Skip to main content

MCU Research Library

Marine Corps University Research Library, Quantico, VA.

The Marine Corps University Research Library is the premier academic library within the Marine Corps. Its collections include over 150,000 volumes, 400 periodical subscriptions, and 120,000 microforms as well as access to numerous government and commercial databases and digital resources.

While the Research Library’s emphasis is on amphibious warfare, all aspects of military arts and sciences and military history are covered in depth, with ancillary subject areas such as history, international relations, regional and area studies, geography, political and social sciences, and technology.

The Library provides a complete range of reference, bibliographic, research and loan services to students, faculty, and staff of the University schools. It also provides support to Marines and independent scholars worldwide.

In Person
  • Reference services are available during regular business hours
    • Monday-Friday: 8:00am until closing
    • Saturday: 10:00am until closing
  • There are no after-hours or Sunday reference services available
  • The Reference Office is located in room 121

By Phone
  • 703-784-4411 during regular hours
  • There are no after-hours or Sunday reference services available

By Email
  • Submit a reference question via email: mcu_grc_reference at usmcu.edu.
  • The Reference Staff will respond within two (2) working days
  • If your question is time-sensitive, please call the Reference Desk at 703-784-4411 or DSN 278-4411

Borrowing Items - Loan Periods

  • Registered patrons may borrow a total of 30 items for a loan period of 30 days (except for DVDs). 

  • DVDs: A total of 5 DVDs may be borrowed for a loan period of 2 weeks. 

  • Reference, Rare Books and Special Collections cannot be checked out and must be used inside the Library. 

  • Lost or damaged materials must be replaced at patrons' expense. Please contact the Circulation Desk if your borrowed materials have been damaged.


Renewals

  • Items can be renewed once via phone or online.

  • Additional renewals must be done in person at the Library, with the items to be renewed presented.

  • If an item has been placed on hold, the item cannot be renewed and must be returned when requested by Library staff.


Holds

  • Holds can be placed on items that are checked out by another patron.

  • Holds can be placed by calling or visiting the MCU Research Library or Quantico Base Library circulation desks. Holds cannot be placed online.

  • If an item has been placed on hold, the item cannot be renewed and must be returned when requested by Library staff.


Online Account Access


Overdues

  • Borrowing privileges may be suspended until overdue items are returned. Patrons are reminded that Library materials are property of the federal government.


Returning Items

  • Audio/Visual items (DVDs, CDs, Playaways) must be returned to one of the Circulation Desks. Please do not deposit these items into the outside drop box. The reason for this is that the elements - heat, rain, and cold - can cause damage to these items. 

  • Library materials may be returned to either the Base Library or Research Library circulation desks. Materials that are not audio/visual items can also be returned to the drop box located across from the GRC.

MCU Research Library Hours

Monday-Thursday:       0730-2000
Friday:                          0730-1800
Saturday & Sunday:     1000-1800
Federal Holidays:         Closed


NOTE: Changes in hours due to holidays schedules and emergency closings will be posted on the Library website and social media outlets, and not on this page.

VISITOR INFORMATION
The MCU Research Library is the academic library of Marine Corps University. It is also a partial government repository and as such, anyone is welcome to visit the Library. Only registered patrons can borrow materials. The Library is located within the Gen. Alfred M. Gray Marine Corps Research Center (GRC). Parking is available in the garage across the street.

The Quantico Base Library is an HQMC-MCCS Library co-located within the GRC. Anyone is welcome to visit the Library, but only registered patrons can borrow materials.

Both Libraries, along with a Virtual Branch that managers library systems, databases and websites, comprise the Library of the Marine Corps (LOMC).


HOURS OF OPERATION
The Libraries are open according to the times listed on their respective home pages. They are closed on all Federal holidays. Unscheduled closings due to inclement weather or other unforeseen circumstances will be posted at the front entrances to the GRC, on individual Library websites, and social media outlets.


LIBRARY SERVICES

Eligibility
The following are eligible to apply for a Library Card:

  • Military ID and DoD card holders (Active Duty, local Reserve, local Retired Military or family members whose Sponsor is Active Duty, local Reserve, or local Retired Military), or Marine Corps DoD Civilians assigned to MCB Quantico as duty station. Current ID must be shown at the time of registration.

  • Government contractors may register and checkout materials from the library with written permission from their COR stating that this use is necessary to accomplish their statement of work.

  • Family members of Civilian ID card holders, and civilians that do not hold a Military/DoD ID card are NOT authorized to obtain a Library card.

Registration

  • Library cards must be applied for in person. 

  • A current Military or DoD ID card must be presented at the time of application.

  • Minors applying for a Library card must have a parent or guardian (Sponsor) present at time of registration.

  • The Sponsor is responsible for all materials checked out by his/her family members/dependents.

  • Lost or stolen Library cards should be reported immediately, so that the account may be deactivated.


BORROWING & CIRCULATION POLICIES

Borrowing Items - Loan Periods

  • Registered patrons may borrow a total of 30 items for a loan period of 30 days (except for DVDs). 

  • DVDs: A total of 5 DVDs may be borrowed for a loan period of 2 weeks. 

  • Reference, Rare Books and Special Collections cannot be checked out and must be used inside the Library. 

  • Lost or damaged materials must be replaced at patrons' expense. Please contact the Circulation Desk if your borrowed materials have been damaged.

Renewals

  • Items can be renewed once via phone or online.

  • Additional renewals must be done in person at the Library, with the items to be renewed presented.

  • If an item has been placed on hold, the item cannot be renewed and must be returned when requested by Library staff.

Holds

  • Holds can be placed on items that are checked out by another patron.

  • Holds can be placed by calling or visiting the MCU Research Library or Quantico Base Library circulation desks. Holds cannot be placed online.

  • If an item has been placed on hold, the item cannot be renewed and must be returned when requested by Library staff.

Online Account Access

Overdues

  • Borrowing privileges may be suspended until overdue items are returned.

Returning Items

  • Audio/Visual items (DVDs, CDs, Playaways) must be returned to one of the Circulation Desks. Please do not deposit these items into the outside drop box. The reason for this is that the elements - heat, rain, and cold - can cause damage to these items. 

  • Library materials may be returned to either the Base Library or Research Library circulation desks. Materials that are not audio/visual items can also be returned to the drop box located across from the GRC.


CHECKING OUT/CLEARING BASE

Patrons transferring from MCB Quantico are required to check with Circulation Desk to ensure no items remain outstanding on either their own, or their family members', library accounts.


CHILDREN

Children under 10 years of age must be supervised by a parent or guardian and should not be left unattended. The Library staff does not serve in loco parenti, that is, in place of parents.

Children are encouraged to use the Quantico Base Library. The Base Library offers numerous events for children including regularly scheduled story-time sessions. The Academic Library is reserved for adults to study and conduct research.


COMPUTERS AND PRINTERS

NOTE: The Library staff members are NOT authorized to assist patrons with troubleshooting their personal electronic equipment.

MCU Research Library Computers

  • 50 computers for patron use on a first-come first-served basis.

  • Patrons that wish to use a computer must sign in and must present a current Military or DoD ID card.

  • If all computers are in use, priority is given to students of any of the MCU schools.

  • Printing limited to 25 pages per day per patron.

  • Two scanners are available for patron use.

  • No memory sticks, USB drives, thumb drives or flash cards may be connected to any Library computer (per MCEN 293-08).

  • Children under 18 years of age must use the computers on the Quantico Base Library side.

  • The Library complies with Marine Corps Bulletin 2010, which provides for monitoring of network traffic and outlines permissible and prohibited uses of the internet from government computers. When violations of this policy are observed by Library staff, they are reported to Command authorities.


COPIERS AND MICROFILM READER-PRINTER

  • Copiers are available on the first deck in the room located near the Reference Desk.

  • Copier use is limited to reproducing materials from the Library collections and is subject to copyright laws.

  • Patrons may not use the copiers for personal use, i.e., to copy service records books, etc.

  • A Microfilm reader-printer is also located on the first deck.


DATABASES

The MCU Research Library subscribes to online databases to assist MCU students, faculty and staff in conducting research. These databases are more academic and research-oriented in scope than those provided by the HQMC-MCCS/Quantico Base Library.

All databases are available for all patrons to use while onsite. Offsite access to these databases is authorized for MCU students, faculty and staff only. 

For information and assistance, including instruction, usernames and passwords, contact the MCU Research Library Reference Staff at (703) 784-4411.


HEADPHONES

Headphones for internet use are available at the Circulation Desk for onsite use only. Headphones are required for online training and other websites that require audio, so as not to disturb other patrons.


INTERLIBRARY LOAN (ILL)
For registered borrowers, the MCU Research Library ILL Clerk will attempt to find and borrow from other libraries materials not available in our collections. The process usually takes 5-10 days, sometimes longer. Lending libraries determine the length of the loan.

ILL request forms are available at the Reference Desk. There is no charge for this service. If you are not a registered patron but would like to borrow from our collection, please submit a request through your local public library.

Interlibrary Loan services are not available for Quantico Base Library patrons.


INTERNET ACCESS / WI-FI
WiFi access is provided throughout the library by HQMC-MCCS Libraries. Please note that the quality of the wireless signal depends on where you are sitting in the building and the possibly the condition or quality of your computer equipment.


LOST AND FOUND
Please contact us at (703) 784-4409 if you suspect you forgot an item. We make every attempt to notify patrons who forget their Military/DoD ID or Library cards. Unclaimed Military IDs are returned to the DEERS office to be destroyed. Other unclaimed items are disposed of after 90 days.


MARINE CORPS READING LIST
Marine Corps Reading List materials are located on the second deck of the MCU Research Library. All titles, including audio tapes, CDs and Playaways, are located here. Some reading list titles are also available online - please check the Reading List Guide for details.

We do not lend our Marine Corps Reading List titles to other libraries. We regret that we cannot purchase copies for Marine units.


STUDY ROOMS
Three study rooms on the first deck are available during operating hours, on a first-come, first-served basis. To reserve the GRC Auditorium or other conference rooms in the GRC, contact the GRC Administrative Office and consult the GRC website.

If you are a patron of the MCU Research Library or Quantico Base Library, we invite you to suggest a book, audiobook, journal, DVD, or other materials you think the Library should add to our collections. Submit your suggestion via email to mcu_grc_reference at usmcu.edu. We do not allow form submissions via the web. If your request is time-sensitive, please call the Reference Desk at (703) 784-4411 or DSN 278-4411.

Include the following information in your email request:

  • Name
  • Email address
  • Phone number
  • MCU affiliation (faculty, staff, student, etc.)
  • Title
  • Author
  • ISBN
  • Comments
Loading ...

  Research Tools Library Services General Information Quick Links  
  Databases Reference & Research Assistance Contact Us Gray Research Center  
  eJournal Portal Borrow/Renew/Return Directions/Hours/Location Marine Corps Archives  
  Library Catalog Copyright Assistance Library Staff Portal Marine Corps University  
  Marine Corps Reading List Interlibrary Loan Library News & Announcements National Museum of the Marine Corps  
  RefWorks Manage My Account Library Services & Policies Quantico Base Library  

 
This is an official U.S. Marine Corps website | Library of the Marine Corps | 2040 Broadway Street | Quantico, Virginia 22134 | 703.784.4409

Marine Corps Social Media / Privacy / Accessibility / FOIA / No Fear Act / Marines.mil / MCB Quantico / USA.gov