Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Library News & Announcements

Logging into Databases from Moodle for MCU Resident Students

by M. Maslowski on 2017-12-27T10:41:00-05:00 | Comments

PLEASE NOTE: THESE INSTRUCTIONS DO NOT APPLY TO CDET STUDENTS

CDET STUDENTS GO TO http://library.usmc-mccs.org/cgi-bin/main.pl 

AND FOLLOW THE EBSCOHOST LINK

 

We've had a lot of questions about how to login to databases from the new Moodle platform. The Blackboard-to-Moodle change requires slightly different procedures in order to access Library databases. Follow our step-by-step instructions and learn what to expect (it's easy & painless, we promise!).

WHAT YOU NEED TO KNOW NOW: If you don't have a Library card, get one. You'll need it in order to access the subscription databases reserved for MCU students, faculty and staff. NOTE: These instructions apply to resident students on campus in Quantico. If you are a CDET student, contact your direct support librarian for information on accessing Library resources for CDET students.

Ready? Here's how to do it:  


From Links in a Course Card
  1. Login to MCU's Moodle platform: https://usmc.usalearning.net.
  2. Click on any database link in your course card, or provided by a professor, etc.
  3. You'll be directed to the Library's sign-in page. This is the same page you use to manage your Library account.
  4. Enter your barcode number and password and click on SIGN IN. You'll stay signed in for 2 hours, unless you close out your browser. 

  


From Links on the Library's Moodle Page
  1. Login to MCU's Moodle platform: https://usmc.usalearning.net.
  2. Find the GRAY RESEARCH CENTER course. All students should be enrolled. If you are not, contact mcu_grc_virtual@usmcu.edu and request enrollment.
  3. Once inside the Gray Research Center course, click on the DATABASE LINKS section.
  4. Click on a database link.
  5. You'll be directed to the Library's sign-in page. This is the same page you use to manage your Library account.
  6. Enter your barcode number and password and click on SIGN IN. You'll stay signed in for 2 hours, unless you close out your browser. 

FAQs

Why is the login process different? The technologies behind Blackboard and Moodle are different. Basically, it is what it is.

Do all MCU students, faculty & staff need a Library card? Yes, if you want to access database content from offsite or through the Moodle platform.

Does this login work for CDET students? No. CDET students can use the database resources found on the HQMC MCCS Libraries page.

POC for problems? Contact the Virtual Branch at mcu_grc_virtual@usmcu.edu.


 Add a Comment

0 Comments.

  Subscribe



Enter your e-mail address to receive notifications of new posts by e-mail.


  Archive



  Follow Us



  Facebook
  Return to Blog
This post is closed for further discussion.

title
Loading...

Research Library Hours Contact Us Social Media  
  Monday-Friday: 0730-1800 Circulation Desk: (703) 784-4409 Twitter  
  Saturday: 0900-1700 Reference Desk: (703) 784-4411 Facebook  
  Sunday, Federal Holidays: Closed FDLP Library  
   

 This is an official U.S. Marine Corps website | Library of the Marine Corps | 2040 Broadway Street | Quantico, Virginia 22134 | 703.784.4409

Marine Corps Social Media / Accessibility / FOIA / No Fear Act / Marines.mil / MCB Quantico / USA.gov