Research Guides: College of Distance Education and Training (CDET) Guide: Writing

Writing and Citation Research Guide

This Research Guide offers resources and tips for writing essays and papers for the Marine Corps University (MCU) faculty, staff, and students. MCU Faculty, Staff and Students may use the Leadership Communications Skill Center (LCSC) as an additional resource for individual consulting about writing, speaking and research. The LCSC faculty members also provide workshops and courses about writing, speaking and research. See the "Contact Us" section of this guide to contact a faculty member of the LCSC.

Style Guides

Marine Corps University Communications Style Guide, 14th ed. Rev.
The 14th edition of the Marine Corps University Communications Style Guide establishes a consistent style of writing adapted from The Chicago Manual of Style (CMOS), 17th edition. In the guide, you will find information regarding CMOS citation practices, grammar and punctuation rules, and appropriate formatting of charts, graphs, and tables. This condensed, user-friendly reference also provides you with guidance on the use of civilian academic and professional military styles in research and writing, which makes the guide an asset to students and faculty university-wide.
Naval War College Pocket Writing and Style Guide
The Naval War College (NWC) Pocket Writing and Style Guide is provided as an additional resource for MCU researchers, faculty, staff and students. This writing and style guide is a quick reference guide that complements both A Writer’s Reference, seventh edition, edited by Diana Hacker and Nancy Sommers, and The Chicago Manual of Style (CMS), seventeenth edition.

Style Tools

A Manual for Writers of Research Papers, Theses, and Dissertations by Kate L. Turabian; Wayne C. Booth (Revised by); Gregory G. Colomb (Revised by); University of Chicago Press Staff (Revised by); Joseph M. Williams (Revised by)
Call Number: LB2369 .T8 2013
ISBN: 9780226816371
Publication Date: 2013-04-03
A handbook for writers at every level--from first-year undergraduates, to dissertation writers apprehensively submitting final manuscripts, to senior scholars who may be old hands at research and writing but less familiar with new media citation styles.
A Writer's Reference by Diana Hacker; Nancy Sommers (Contribution by); Tom Jehn (Contribution by); Jane Rosenzweig (Contribution by)
Call Number: PE1408 .H2778 2007
The new edition is available in a classic version that provides more help with academic writing, serves a wider range of multilingual students, and lends more support for college research — all in an quick-reference format.
Cite It Right by Tom Fox; Julia Mary Johns; Sarah Jane Keller
Call Number: PN171.F56 F69 2007
A guide to citing bibliographic data according to MLA, APA, and Chicago style guidelines also discusses how to conduct research while avoiding plagiarism.
Concise Rules of APA Style by American Psychological Association Staff
Call Number: BF76.7 .C66 2010
This easy-to-use pocket guide, compiled from the sixth edition of the "Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association," provides complete guidance on the rules of style that are critical for clear communication.
The Chicago Manual of Style, 17th Ed. by University of Chicago Staff (Editors)
Call Number: Z253 .U69 2010 and online
Provides information on manuscript preparation, punctuation, spelling, quotations, captions, tables, abbreviations, references, bibliographies, notes, and indexes, with sections on journals and electronic media. NOTE: The Library subscription includes the CMOS 17th edition only. It does not include other editions or style manuals.
The Elements of Style by William Strunk; E. B. White
Call Number: PE1408 .S772 2005
This book's unique tone, wit and charm have conveyed the principles of English style to millions of readers. Use "the little book" to make a big impact with writing.

	Hours of Operation	Contact Us	Social Media
	Current Hours	Circulation Desk: (703) 784-4409	Twitter
		Reference Desk: (703) 784-4411	Facebook
		FDLP Library

This is an official U.S. Marine Corps website \| Library of the Marine Corps \| 2040 Broadway Street \| Quantico, Virginia 22134 \| 703.784.4409 Marine Corps Social Media / Accessibility / FOIA / No Fear Act / Marines.mil / MCB Quantico / USA.gov