Skip to main content

Archives Branch: Campaign Collections

Official records documenting the Marine Corps' involvement in various campaigns.

World War I

 

Official Documents from World War I

 

The Archives Branch maintains a collection of primary sources documenting the formation of the Northern Bombing Group and the activities of the 1st Marine Aviation Force in France during World War I, 1917 - 1919.

Notable items include the war diaries of the 1st Aeronautic Company, which document the daily occurrences of the Company while conducting anti-submarine operations in the vicinity of the Azores; muster rolls of the Marines who flew missions as part of Squadron 267 and Squadron 268 of the Britain’s Royal Air Force; the operation reports of Squadrons A, B, and C; and foundational correspondence of the Northern Bombing Group from the early days of the 1st Aviation Force in France. The collection spans 7 boxes (3.5 linear feet).

 

If you have any questions about these collections, please contact the Archives at (703) 784-4685 or mcu_archives@usmcu.edu.

Note: When requesting materials from these collections, please provide the following information: collection name, collection number, and box number (i.e., First Marine Aviation Collection, COLL/31012, Boxes 2-3).

 

Indexes to World War I Personal Papers Collections

 

The Archives Branch maintains indexes of personal papers collections to serve as pathfinders for prospective researchers.  The criteria for selecting collections for inclusion in this index is limited to those personal papers that contain materials pertinent to the study of the World War I.
 
Collections in these indexes are comprised of official Marine Corps records, documents, and publications; letters and correspondence; manuscript drafts; photographs; maps; memoirs and reminiscences; clippings and articles; oral histories and interviews; and ephemera.

 

World War I Photographs

 
The Archives Branch maintains a Flickr page dedicated to showcasing photographs found in our collections. 
 
Photographs relevant to the study of World War I include images of Female Marine Reservists in Washington, DC; images of the 1st Marine Aeronautic Company in the Azores; and depictions of the destruction at Chateau-Thierry and Belleau Wood, among others.
 
Please note that some of the photographs found on our Flickr pages are considered public domain and have been cleared for release. While some imagery is public domain, any use of such imagery from this site must be attributed to the U.S. Marine Corps, or the individual photographer. Photographs may not be used to deface the reputation of the Marine Corps, its personnel, or policies.  Additionally, some imagery on this site may fall under copyright protection, such as imagery from personal photo collections donated to the Archives. Please contact us for more information regarding proper use of and/or copyright restrictions for these images.

Chateau Thierry

 

World War I maps

 

The Archives Branch maintains a collection of original maps from World War I, including Chateau Thierry, Blanc Mont, St. Mihiel.  Some of these maps are available in digital format.  Please contact the Archives for more information.

The Perry-Castañeda Library Map Collection at the University of Texas at Austin maintains a digital collection of the supplementary maps from "Summary of Operations in the World War" (see link below).

Monographs and publications from the Marine Corps History Division

Available as full-text, searchable PDFs from the Government Publishing Office.

Other World War I Primary Sources

Loading ...

  Research Tools Library Services General Information Quick Links  
  Databases Reference & Research Assistance Contact Us Gray Research Center  
  eJournal Portal Borrow/Renew/Return Directions/Hours/Location Marine Corps Archives  
  Library Catalog Copyright Assistance Library Staff Portal Marine Corps University  
  Marine Corps Reading List Interlibrary Loan Library News & Announcements National Museum of the Marine Corps  
  RefWorks Manage My Account Library Services & Policies Quantico Base Library  

 
This is an official U.S. Marine Corps website | Library of the Marine Corps | 2040 Broadway Street | Quantico, Virginia 22134 | 703.784.4409

Marine Corps Social Media / Privacy / Accessibility / FOIA / No Fear Act / Marines.mil / MCB Quantico / USA.gov