Skip to main content

Archives Branch: Campaign Collections

Official records documenting the Marine Corps' involvement in various campaigns.
War dogs on Iwo
 

World War II Pacific Theater Campaigns

 

The Archives Branch maintains collections of primary sources pertaining to the Marine Corps' involvement in campaigns against the Japanese in the Pacific Theater, 1942-1945.  These include campaigns for Guadalcanal; Tarawa; Peleliu; Iwo Jima; Saipan and Tinian; Okinawa; Guam.

The finding aids, indexes, and links to maps and photographs on this site highlight some of these collections.  There are also links to books and monographs of the official Marine Corps histories of these battles, as well as links to primary and secondary sources at other repostories.

If you have any questions about these collections, please contact the Archives at (703) 784-4685 or mcu_archives@usmcu.edu.

Note: When requesting materials from these collections, please provide the following information: collection name, collection number, and box number (i.e., Iwo Jima, COLL/3692, Boxes 11-14)

  Research Tools Library Services General Information Quick Links  
  Databases Reference & Research Assistance Contact Us Gray Research Center  
  eJournal Portal Borrow/Renew/Return Directions/Hours/Location Marine Corps Archives  
  Library Catalog Copyright Assistance Library Staff Portal Marine Corps University  
  Marine Corps Reading List Interlibrary Loan Library News & Announcements National Museum of the Marine Corps  
  RefWorks Manage My Account Library Services & Policies Quantico Base Library  

 
This is an official U.S. Marine Corps website | Library of the Marine Corps | 2040 Broadway Street | Quantico, Virginia 22134 | 703.784.4409

Marine Corps Social Media / Privacy / Accessibility / FOIA / No Fear Act / Marines.mil / MCB Quantico / USA.gov