Skip to main content

Marine Corps History Division

The temporary website of the Marine Corps History Division, Quantico, VA.

Film and Video History Section

From the World War I to the present, the proud history of the Marine Corps is captured on film and videotape.

The History Division collection of moving image media includes some 20,000 films and 12,000 videotapes.  While the National Archives and Records Administration (NARA) is the official repository of Marine Corps footage depicting combat, heads of state, and commandants, there are additional copies of some of those films at the History Division.  In addition to the copies, our collection primarily preserves behind-the-lines support and planning.  This includes combined arms, inter-service, and joint international training exercises, as well as interventions and humanitarian missions.  We have a solid collection of recruiting and MOS videos, 1990s videos of over 200 embassies, and MC birthday messages that date back to WW 2.  Also represented in our collection are changes of command, ceremonial events, bands and drill teams, all significant memorials for the Corps.

Requests for information will be handled by professional historians at the History Division.  Better results are obtained with a conference between the requestor and the historian, either in person or by phone.  Media that is already digitized can usually be forwarded via a link.

Contact the Film and Video History Section at (703) 784-1997.

  Research Tools Library Services General Information Quick Links  
  Databases Reference & Research Assistance Contact Us Gray Research Center  
  eJournal Portal Borrow/Renew/Return Directions/Hours/Location Marine Corps Archives  
  Library Catalog Copyright Assistance Library Staff Portal Marine Corps University  
  Marine Corps Reading List Interlibrary Loan Library News & Announcements National Museum of the Marine Corps  
  RefWorks Manage My Account Library Services & Policies Quantico Base Library  

 
This is an official U.S. Marine Corps website | Library of the Marine Corps | 2040 Broadway Street | Quantico, Virginia 22134 | 703.784.4409

Marine Corps Social Media / Privacy / Accessibility / FOIA / No Fear Act / Marines.mil / MCB Quantico / USA.gov