Skip to main content

Command & Staff College

Resources and information for Marine Corps University Command and Staff College (CSC) students.

LCSC Guidance

How to Get Started

The concept of combined arms, expanded to include both kinetic and non-kinetic effects, remains the key to success on the modern battlefield.

~CSC Recurring Themes AY12


MMS Checklist - 10 Easy Steps to Researching Your MMS Topic

1. Prepare: Have a research logbook ready to record where you find resources

2. Review the Literature: Start with books and e-books in the library catalog.  

Tip: This is a great way to begin a literature review. Also, see the section on Research of the MCU Style Guide.


Malaya -- History -- Malayan Emergency, 1948-1960

Counterinsurgency -- Malaysia -- Malaya

Great Britain. Army -- History -- Malayan Emergency, 1948-1960

Vietnam War, 1961-1975 -- Underground movements

Counterinsurgency -- Vietnam

United States. Army -- History -- Vietnam War, 1961-1975

 

  • Use the bibliography from the book. See citations for related research.
     

3. Review the Databases: Go to the Databases link on Library Research Guide to find articles. 

  • Start by choosing to search the most commonly used databases that cover military journals, news, and/or historical topics:
    • Proquest
    • Ebsco
    • Jane's
    • Lexis-Nexis
    • JStor
       

4. If you want an article but only have its citation, go to the Online Journals link on our research guide. Type in the journal title and you will see our holdings.
 

5. Check DTIC: Go to DTIC and conduct a Technical Reports search.

  • Choose Technical Reports from the drop down menu of the search box.
  • Find a student paper that closely matches your topic and look at the bibliography.
     

6. Check MiPALs: Go to MiPALs (Military Policy Awareness Links)

  •  MiPALs gives access to key U.S. policy statements on the country or topic of the MiPAL.
     

7. Check Government Sources: HSDL, GAO, and CRS Reports:

8. Go to the MCU Library Marine Corps Topics of Interest Site

Choose from a variety of subjects there.

9. Primary Sources: Use Archives/AVIR and Historical Division (HD)

  • From individuals, battles, units or command chronologies, Archives and HD have what you need. Visit them both to submit RFI’s as soon as possible.
    • A word about collection differences:
      • Archives: Has After Action Reports, Command Chronologies, Tables of Organization, Personal Papers etc.
      • HD: Unit diaries, casualty cards & subject files.
      • AVIR: All historical audio visual material for the Marine Corps
         

10. Interviews:

  • Don’t forget to conduct interviews and get primary source material from colleagues. And yes, that may mean you are the primary source
  • Tip: Use the How to Do an Interview guide to prepare in advance.
     

  Research Tools Library Services General Information Quick Links  
  Databases Reference & Research Assistance Contact Us Gray Research Center  
  eJournal Portal Borrow/Renew/Return Directions/Hours/Location Marine Corps Archives  
  Library Catalog Copyright Assistance Library Staff Portal Marine Corps University  
  Marine Corps Reading List Interlibrary Loan Library News & Announcements National Museum of the Marine Corps  
  RefWorks Manage My Account Library Services & Policies Quantico Base Library  

 
This is an official U.S. Marine Corps website | Library of the Marine Corps | 2040 Broadway Street | Quantico, Virginia 22134 | 703.784.4409

Marine Corps Social Media / Privacy / Accessibility / FOIA / No Fear Act / Marines.mil / MCB Quantico / USA.gov