Battle Studies: Gettysburg

During the Civil War Battle of Gettysburg in July 1863, then Brigadier General John Buford commanded the First Cavalry Division, Cavalry Corps, Army of the Potomac, U.S.A. He is generally credited with determining the importance of, and holding the ground near Gettysburg for the coming battle. This study examines the controversies surrounding Buford's actions and discusses whether the controversies have overshadowed the importance of the lessons to be learned from the events.

The concepts of interior and exterior lines gained prominence during the Napoleonic Era with the writings of Jomni. Interior Lines of Operation deal with forces whose operations diverge from a central point. The use of interior lines allows a commander to rapidly shift forces to the decisive point. The battle of Gettysburg was a great historical example illustrating the impact of interior and exterior lines. Throughout the three days of battle, General Meade applied Operational Art in positionin

The purpose of this study is to identify and analyze the leadership competencies of Major General Winfield Scott Hancock, the most consistently successful corps-level commander of the Civil War.

Collected and published by the Library of Congress

By Paris, Louis-Philippe-Albert d'Orléans, comte de, 1838-1894.

From the University of Michigan

Reprinted from the Atlantic Monthly, Neale's Monthly Magazine, and the Youth's companion, Bradford, Gamaliel, 1863-1932.

Digitized materials from General James Longstreet to include letters, articles etc.

A two volume compilation of all the messages and documents of the Confederate government during the Civil War. The first volume contains the official papers of the Confederate President Jefferson Davis as well as what was discussed within the Confederate Congress. Every session of congress is broken up individually and tells what issues were discussed within the session and what was said about the issues. Volume 1 also includes biographical sketches of President Jefferson Davis, Vice President Alexander Stephens, and General Robert E Lee.

A two volume compilation of all the messages and documents of the Confederate government during the Civil War. The second volume contains all the diplomatic correspondences to and from the Confederate government. Volume 2 also includes biographical sketches of three secretaries of state: Robert Toombs, Robert M.T. Hunter, and Judah P. Benjamin.

From Washington and Lee University Archives

The Virginia Military Institute Archives holds a large collection of Stonewall Jackson's personal papers, Jackson images, and other information about his life and times. Included on this page are links to full text correspondence, as well as to full text information about various topics of interest to Jackson researchers.

Online collection of Grant's personal papers and documents.