Research Guides: Women, Peace, & Security: Resources

2023 Women, Peace and Security Strategy and National Action Plan

U.S. Strategy and National Action Plan on Women, Peace and Security (October 2023)
Published on 3 November 2003.

Library Databases

These Databases have been selected because they are the most likely to contain good references on Women, Peace, and Security.

CIAO (Columbia International Affairs Online Journals) This link opens in a new window CIAO is a cross-searchable library of full-text articles from over 300 publishing institutions, including government research organizations, independent think tanks, university analysis centers, and scholarly journals. The materials encompasses working papers, policy briefs, and current analysis and commentary, as well as scholarly journal articles, e-books, and videos. The Economist Intelligence Unit supplies comprehensive country surveys, including in-depth political and economic data and detailed maps. Topics covered: international politics and related fields, security studies, global finance, diplomatic practice, humanitarian law, global governance, development studies, and environmental studies.
DTIC (Defense Technical Information Center) This link opens in a new window Student PME research papers from the military services, DoD tech. reports, GAO reports. Includes MCU student papers from selected schools and years.
eBook Central (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window Access Note: Both onsite and remote users must enter their library account number on the access verification page. EBook Central content covers military, political, and social sciences, computers & IT, education, engineering & technology, environmental studies, health care & medicine, life & physical sciences.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window The Library provides access to these JSTOR collections: Arts & Sciences I - XV, Business IV, JSTOR Essentials, Security Studies, Security Studies Extension. Content within those collections is updated approximately weekly. Access Note: Off-campus users might need to return to the main JSTOR link to re-authenticate and gain access to content.
Back Issues: JSTOR provides images of back issues of selected scholarly journals in the humanities, social sciences, and other subjects. All journal archives start with volume 1, issue 1, up to what is called a "moving wall." This means that the most recent 1 or 2 years are not added to the JSTOR archives until they "age into" the collection.
ProQuest Central This link opens in a new window Access Note: The default search searches more than 1 collection. Change the default search by clicking on the "Change Databases" link at the top of the ProQuest Central home page. Check/uncheck the databases to customize your search. ProQuest Central is a multidisciplinary database covering topics in Business, Health and Medical, Social Sciences, Education, Politics, Criminal Justice, Linguistics, Religion, and SciTech, Performing and Visual Arts, History, Philosophy, and Language and Literature. Content includes scholarly journals, high-value market research, country, economic, and industry reports, working papers, full-text dissertations, professional journals, general interest periodicals, and full-text global news sources.

Think Tanks

Think tanks act as brokers of policy knowledge, centers of research, and incubators of new ideas. As brokers, they channel knowledge between scholars, policymakers, and civil society. As applied researchers, they convert multidisciplinary theory and empirics into insights and recommendations packaged to inform and meet decision-makers’ needs. As innovators, they expand the policy world’s perspectives and possibilities — for example, showing the power of entrepreneurial solutions. At their best, think tanks provide information that is credible, relevant, and easily understood. (CIPE)

Chatham House Chatham House’s mission is to help governments and societies build a sustainably secure, prosperous and just world.
The Clayman Institute for Gender Research Founded in 1974, the Michelle R. Clayman Institute for Gender Research at Stanford University has put research into action by inspiring innovative solutions that advance gender equality. Launched when women professors were "firsts" in their positions, the Institute's work engages faculty and students from Stanford University's seven schools and beyond. The Institute operates as an incubator for collaboration, engaging diverse groups of experts and scholars to identify and tackle the next big questions related to gender equality. For decades, its ground-breaking research—both its in-house research and the interdisciplinary gender research it funds—has effected lasting change.
Consortium on Gender, Security and Human Rights The Consortium on Gender, Security, and Human Rights is an organization devoted to bringing knowledge about gender and security to bear on the quest to end armed conflicts and build sustainable peace. Housed at the University of Massachusetts Boston, the consortium has been shaping the agenda in gender and security research since its establishment in 2002. The consortium is made up of scholars and researchers from academic institutions from the Boston area, and linked with researchers internationally. Throughout its history, the consortium has worked to: build knowledge about gender, armed conflict and security through holding lectures, discussions, knowledge-building workshops, and conferences bridge the gap between research and practice through creative, effective collaborations across some of the stubborn divides between scholars on the one hand, and policymakers, policy-shapers, and practitioners on the other
Institute for Women's Policy Research The mission of the Institute for Women's Policy Research (IWPR) is to gain economic equity for all women and eliminate barriers to their full participation in society. IWPR is a nonpartisan, nonprofit organization that engages in research and dissemination to shape public policy and improve the lives and opportunities of women from diverse backgrounds.
International Women's Think Tank IWTT’s mission is to promote research, critical thinking and innovative solutions on issues related to women and girls. IWTT actively advocates for the personal and professional enrichment of women and girls of the global community through mentorship, intercultural exchange, entrepreneurship, business development, leadership training and the sharing of ideas.
Wilson Center Women & Gender Chartered by Congress, the Wilson Center provides nonpartisan counsel and insights on global affairs to policymakers through deep research, impartial analysis, and independent scholarship. Wilson Center programs work at the intersection of issues to provide insight and analysis on areas related to women, gender, and power in a global context and focus on the importance of gender equity when evaluating the role of gender across disciplines in foreign policy, security, and development.
Women, Peace, and Security in Action Including Gender Perspectives in Department of Defense Operations, Activities, and Investments Fleming, Joslyn, Chandra Garber, Karen M. Sudkamp, Elisa Yoshiara, Abigail S. Post, Victoria M. Smith, and Khadesia Howell, Women, Peace, and Security in Action: Including Gender Perspectives in Department of Defense Operations, Activities, and Investments. Santa Monica, CA: RAND Corporation, 2023. https://www.rand.org/pubs/research_reports/RRA1696-1.html. Also available in print form.

Government Resources

These are some of the International Agencies involved in supporting the Women, Peace, and Securities Act. As such, it is important to study the impact of their work on this initiative.

	Hours of Operation	Contact Us	Social Media
	Current Hours	Circulation Desk: (703) 784-4409	Twitter
		Reference Desk: (703) 784-4411	Facebook
		FDLP Library

This is an official U.S. Marine Corps website \| Library of the Marine Corps \| 2040 Broadway Street \| Quantico, Virginia 22134 \| 703.784.4409 Marine Corps Social Media / Accessibility / FOIA / No Fear Act / Marines.mil / MCB Quantico / USA.gov