Physical characteristics: 45 standard legal size document boxes; 19 linear feet
Span Dates: 1909-1968
Scope and Content: The papers of Edwin N. McClellan consist of materials relating mainly to his work with the Marine Corps Historical Section. A bulk of the papers is from McClellan’s work on the anthology History of the United States Marine Corps. Other material documents his Marine Corps service in China, Nicaragua, and the Philippines. The dates of the collection range from 1909-1968.
Included in this collection is McClellan’s official and personal correspondence, research files on various Marine Corps history topics, and photographs of McClellan while serving overseas. The collection is arranged alphabetically by subject headings and chronologically within each series. All of the subject headings were assigned by McClellan. Series in this collection include Correspondence and Diary; Reference and Writings; and Photographs.
Monographs by Edwin N. McClellan
Physical Characteristics: 5 standard legal size document boxes; 1 oversize folder; 2.5 linear feet
Span Dates: 1809-1957
Scope and Content: This collection consists of holographic, photographic, and printed material covering the military career of John C. McQueen. Of particular interest are the records covering the Guardia Nacional and Nicaraguan experience; his service with the 6th Marine Division; intelligence reports on British combined or joint operations and history of British parachute troopers; the Kiska/Attu operations; McQueen's service as director of Public Information; correspondence relating to President Truman's "Propaganda Machine" comments; the report on the Japanese Defense Plan for Saipan; Major General Julian C. Smith's report to the Commandant, titled "Review of the Organization and Operations of the Guardia Nacional De Nicaragua".
There is also an extensive collection of photos covering McQueen's World War II and post World War II experiences, including the Japanese surrender in China, and correspondences during 1965-1976 relating to the Vietnam experience and CMC initiative in having retired senior officers visit hospitalized Marines evacuated from Vietnam.
Series in this collection include correspondence, diaries, family records, programs and invitations, and photographs.
Physical characteristics: 8 standard legal size document boxes; 4.5 linear feet
Span Dates: 1831-1932
Scope and Content: The Robert Meade collection consists of material related to Meade’s Marine Corps career and his involvement in the Civil War, Panama, Spanish American War, and the attack on Fort Sumter. The collection is composed of correspondence, official records, newspaper clippings, journals, drawings, and photographs. One item of note is a journal kept by Meade concerning the Navy and Marine boat attack on Fort Sumter in 1863. In the journal, he lists actions of the Marines; includes drawings; and lists those Marines killed and wounded in the battle.
The photographs include images of Robert Meade in uniform; family members; John Beecker; Martin Downey; the 1st Marine Battalion in parade review formation; and Miami Beach.
Drawings created by Meade include the Jail Yard and Town Hall of Columbia, South Carolina; Statue of Buddha, Bangkok, Siam; and Meade’s room while a Confederate prisoner in 1863.
Oversize items in this collection include a 1775 map of Cuba; maps of China dated 1864; a hand drawn map of Alaska; and an Inventory of Returned Arms and Accouterments, 1884.
Physical characteristics: 4 standard legal size document boxes; 2 linear feet
Span Dates: 1943-2000
Scope and Content: The Bruce F. Meyers collection consists of material related to Bruce Meyers' research for his publications on 1st Force Reconnaissance Company during the Vietnam War and amphibious reconnaissance in World War II. Included is one photocopy of a draft of "Fortune Favors the Brave: The Story of First Force Recon", and a draft article titled "Reflections on Mentors in our Corps". The research material includes articles, clippings, interviews, and reports related to diving, submarines, and parachuting. Lastly, the collection contains a copy of "You and Atomic Warfare", pamphlet No. 12, and "The Umpire LANTFLEX 52 Phase IV".
Physical characteristics: 13 standard legal size document boxes; 1 oversize folder; 1 oversize box, 6.75 linear feet
Span Dates: 1905-1971
Scope and Content: The Adolph Bradlee Miller Collection consists of materials relate to his career with the Marine Corps beginning with his enrollment as a Midshipman at the United States Naval Academy and up to his retirement shortly after World War II. The dates of the collection range from 1905- 1971.
Included in this collection are official and unofficial documents acquired by Colonel Adolph B. Miller over the course of his military career. Of particular note is Series.4, containing Diaries and a Field Message book maintained by Miller while away on deployments. They include detailed descriptions of events he participated in and experienced while in Haiti, France (during World War I), and China. Other items of interest are photographs of individuals Miller associated with and postcards of places he visited for pleasure and while on official duty. And also, two scrapbooks Miller created while serving as a Midshipman at the United States Naval Academy from 1905-1909.
The collection is arranged by subject headings and chronologically within each series. Subject headings were imposed by the processor. Series in this collection include: United States Marine Corps Orders, Appointments, & Endorsements, Awards & Evaluations, Correspondence, Diaries, Official Records, Maps, Historical Reference Books Guides, & Papers, Personal Notes & Documents, Artistic Material, Ephemera, Newspaper Articles, Publications, Scrapbooks, Images, and Yearbooks.
|Research Tools||Library Services||General Information||Quick Links|
|Databases||Reference & Research Assistance||Contact Us||Gray Research Center|
|eJournal Portal||Borrow/Renew/Return||Directions/Hours/Location||Marine Corps Archives|
|Library Catalog||Copyright Assistance||Library Staff Training||Marine Corps University|
|Marine Corps Reading List||Interlibrary Loan||Library News & Announcements||National Museum of the Marine Corps|
|RefWorks||Manage My Account||Library Services & Policies||Quantico Base Library|