Skip to main content

Archives Branch: Personal Papers Collections

A guide to the papers of individual Marines held by the Archives Branch.

Marines on Operation Meade River, 1968Personal Papers Collections in the Archives Branch

In October 1998, upon recognizing the educational and research value of archival materials, the Commandant of the Marine Corps General Charles C. Krulak directed the USMC History and Museums Division to transfer its personal papers collections from the Washington, DC Navy Yard to the Archives Branch at Quantico, Virginia.  The Archives Branch continues to maintain this superb resource, and our collection of personal papers includes the papers of some of the most notable Marines in history.  With every passing year the number of collections in our holdings increases.  We currently have upwards of 5,700 collections, and we endeavor to make these invaluable materials available to both Marine and civilian researchers. Please note that these finding aids do not represent the entirety of our holdings.  Contact us at mcu_archives@usmcu.edu or (703) 784-4685 for information about other collections.

Personal papers are comprised of, but not limited to, the following media types: correspondence, memoirs, diaries, scrapbooks, maps, and photographs.  The collections in our holdings are organized alphabetically by creator's last name on this site.  For each individual we have included a finding aid to their papers, a photograph of the individual, the size of the collection, the dates covered, and a brief description of the collection's contents.  Whenever possible, additional links to official Marine Corps biographies are included, as well as links to digitized photographs and documents, that are available online via the Archives Branch Flickr page or the History Division Photo Galleries.

Note: When requesting materials from these collections, please provide the following information: collection name, collection number, and box number (i.e., Smedley Butler, COLL/3124, Boxes 23-24)

Contact the Archives Branch

Telephone

(703) 784-4685

Email

Archives Branch reference requests and general inquiries: mcu_archives@usmcu.edu

Command Chronology requests and submissions: mcu_5750@usmcu.edu

Archives Hours

Monday - Friday:                       0800-1600
Weekend & Federal holidays:   Closed

Please note: The Archives Branch is closed on weekends and federal holidays.  Emergency closings will be posted on the Archives website and the Archives Facebook page.

Mailing Address

Archives Branch, Marine Corps History Division
2044 Broadway Street
Quantico, VA  22134

Before visiting the Archives Branch, please review the following information: Conducting In-Person Research

Physical Location:

2044 Broadway Street
Quantico, VA  22134

Visitors should the access the Archives via the Warner Center lobby (click here for driving directions) The Archives reference desk and reading room are on the first deck.

Base Access

Marine Corps Base Quantico is located off of Interstate 95 in Virginia, approximately 36 miles south of Washington, DC and 20 miles north of Fredericksburg, VA.

Military and DoD personnel must present DoD identification to access the Base 24/7. Marine sentries will assist Visitors arriving at the Base. Visitors are issued vehicle passes and given directions to their destination if necessary. Proper identification such as a valid state driver’s license is required for Base access. Vehicles may be subject to search.

The two closest airports are Dulles International (IAD) in Dulles, Va., and Ronald Reagan Washington National (DCA) in Arlington, VA. Other transportation includes a bus terminal in nearby Triangle as well as Amtrak (1-800-872-7245) and Virginia Railway Express (1-800-RIDE-VRE) train services. The train station is located in the Town of Quantico and the Warner Center is a short walk from the station.

Visit our social media sites for daily updates and items from our collections on Marine Corps history, including trivia, people, archival documents, photographs, videos and more. 

Loading ...

  Research Tools Library Services General Information Quick Links  
  Databases Reference & Research Assistance Contact Us Gray Research Center  
  eJournal Portal Borrow/Renew/Return Directions/Hours/Location Marine Corps Archives  
  Library Catalog Copyright Assistance Library Staff Portal Marine Corps University  
  Marine Corps Reading List Interlibrary Loan Library News & Announcements National Museum of the Marine Corps  
  RefWorks Manage My Account Library Services & Policies Quantico Base Library  

 
This is an official U.S. Marine Corps website | Library of the Marine Corps | 2040 Broadway Street | Quantico, Virginia 22134 | 703.784.4409

Marine Corps Social Media / Privacy / Accessibility / FOIA / No Fear Act / Marines.mil / MCB Quantico / USA.gov