DoD Budget and Congressional Research

Address

Marine Corps University Research Library
2040 Broadway Street
Quantico, VA  22134

Physical Location

Building 2040, Marine Base Quantico, Mainside

Base Access

Please visit the MCBQ DBIDS webpage for current information and FAQs on base access.

Travelling South on I-95 (from Washington DC): Take exit 150A, Quantico/Triangle. Merge onto VA 619-E (Joplin Road) and proceed through the traffic light toward the Main gate. Once you’ve passed through the gate, follow Fuller Road for approximately 4 miles. The speed limit is 40mph until approach to the Barnett Avenue curve. Bear right onto Barnett Avenue (speed limit reduces to 25mph).

At the second traffic light at the Quantico Fire Station, turn left onto Martin Avenue, and go underneath the railroad bridge. The entrance to the GRC parking garage will be on the right. Or, turn right at the rotary onto Broadway Street, then right again at the end of Broadway. Another parking garage entrance will be on your right.

Travelling North on I-95 (from Richmond): Take Exit 148 Marine Base Quantico. Proceed on Russell Road to the Base gate. Once you’ve passed through the gate, travel on Russell Road approximately 3.5 miles. At the rotary by the Officer’s Club, take the third exit road and proceed on Barnett Avenue for 1.1 miles. Just after the Quantico Fire Station, turn right onto Martin Avenue, and go underneath the railroad bridge. The entrance to the GRC parking garage will be on the right. Or, turn right at the rotary onto Broadway Street, then right again at the end of Broadway. Another parking garage entrance will be on your right.

• Marine Corps University resident students, faculty and staff, Active duty military, local Reserve, DoD Civilian, and DoD Contractor card holders assigned to MCB Quantico as a duty station or to a unit within a 50-mile radius of MCB Quantico, or living/working within the same 50-mile radius.

• Current DOD ID must be shown at the time of registration. Non-DOD identification is not acceptable for registration purposes.

• CMC Fellows, FPME students, and PhD candidates in approved programs are eligible for remote access to database holdings. Eligibility will be verified through the corresponding program branch, registration takes place online.

• DoD Contractors must provide a letter from their COR stating that use of library materials is necessary to complete their statement of work.

• Not authorized: Family members of Civilian DOD ID card holders, and civilians that do not hold a Military/DoD ID card.

• Not authorized: Civilian or military students who are not part of an approved Marine Corps University or CMC Fellow, FPME, or PhD program.

• Not authorized: Active duty or Reserve who are not stationed at or living within a 50-mile radius of MCB Quantico.

The following are eligible to apply for a Quantico Base Library Card:

• Active duty military and family, local Reserve, DoD Civilian, DoD Contractor, military retiree and family card holders, Marine Corps University resident students, faculty and staff assigned to MCB Quantico as a duty station or residing within a 50-mile radius of MCB Quantico. 

• Current DOD ID must be shown at the time of registration. Non-DOD identification is not acceptable for registration purposes.

• DoD Contractors must provide a letter from their COR stating that use of library materials is necessary to complete their statement of work.

• Not authorized: Family members of Civilian ID card holders, and civilians that do not hold a Military/DoD ID card.

• Not authorized: Active duty and Reserve students who are not part of an approved CMC fellows, FPME or PhD program.

Registration

• Library cards registration must be applied for in person. A current Military or DoD ID card must be presented at the time of application. Non-DOD identification is not acceptable for registration purposes.

• Patrons are not allowed to borrow materials on another person's account. Military, retiree, and MCU Student family members should register for their own Library account.

• Students, faculty, staff, CMC, FPME and PhD fellows must register online through the link provided at time of inquiry.

• Minors applying for a Library card with the Quantico Base Library must have a parent or guardian (Sponsor) present at time of registration. The Sponsor is responsible for all materials checked out by his/her family members/dependents.

• Lost or stolen Library cards should be reported immediately, so that the account can be deactivated.

VISITOR INFORMATION
The MCU Research Library is the academic library of Marine Corps University. It is also a partial government repository and as such, anyone is welcome to visit the Library. Only registered patrons can borrow materials. The Library is located within the Gen. Alfred M. Gray Marine Corps Research Center (GRC). Parking is available in the garage across the street.

The Quantico Base Library is an HQMC-MCCS Library co-located within the GRC. Anyone is welcome to visit the Library, but only registered patrons can borrow materials.

Both Libraries, along with a Virtual Branch that managers library systems, databases and websites, comprise the Library of the Marine Corps (LOMC).

HOURS OF OPERATION

• The Libraries are open according to the times listed on their respective home pages.
• Libraries are closed on all Federal holidays.
• Unscheduled closings due to weather or other circumstances will be posted at the front entrances to the GRC, on individual Library websites, and social media outlets.

BORROWING & CIRCULATION POLICIES

Borrowing Items - Loan Periods

• Registered patrons may borrow a total of 30 items for a loan period of 30 days.

• Reference, Rare Books and Special Collections cannot be checked out and must be used inside the Library. 

• Patrons are financially responsible for lost and/or damaged items. Please contact the Circulation Desk for more information.

• Special loan/renewal periods apply to MCU students and faculty. Please contact the Library for more information.

• SPECIAL NOTE: Quantico Library materials cannot be returned to other Base libraries as we operate on a different system. Please make sure to return all items and clear your account before leaving MCB Quantico.

Renewals & Returns

• Library materials are government property and must be returned when the borrowing period expires, or as requested by Library staff.

• Items can be renewed once via phone or online.

• Additional renewals must be done in person at the Library, with the items to be renewed presented.

• Items with holds placed on them cannot be renewed, and must be returned.

• Items that are severely overdue cannot be renewed because it is 'convenient'. Please respect other library patrons who wish to use the materials.

Holds

• Holds can be placed online or by calling or visiting the MCU Research Library or Quantico Base Library circulation desks.

• If an item has been placed on hold, the item cannot be renewed and must be returned when requested by Library staff.

Online Account Access

• Patrons may access and manage their Library account online.

Overdues

• Borrowing privileges and remote database access will be suspended until overdue items are returned.

Returning Items

• Items can be returned to the bright blue drop box located across from the GRC, near the parking garage.

• Please return Library materials to their respective circulation desks (i.e., Research Library materials to the research library side, Base library items to the Base library side.)

CHECKING OUT/CLEARING BASE

Quantico Library materials cannot be returned to other Base libraries as we operate on a different system. Please make sure to return all items and clear your account before leaving MCB Quantico.

Patrons transferring from MCB Quantico are required to check with Circulation Desk to ensure no items remain outstanding on either their own, or their family members', library accounts.

CHILDREN

For safety and other reasons, children under 10 years of age must be supervised by a nearby parent or guardian, and should not be left unattended. The Library staff does not provide babysitting services.

The Base Library offers numerous events for children including regularly scheduled story-time sessions.

Computers and a printer are available for use.

The Academic Library is reserved for adults over 18, to study and conduct research. 

COMPUTERS AND PRINTERS

NOTE: The Library staff members are NOT authorized and cannot assist patrons with troubleshooting their personal electronic equipment.

MCU Research Library Computers

• The Library is on a .EDU network.

• MCEN laptops are located on the 2d deck. Personal MCEN laptops cannot be connected to our network, they will be blocked.

• Computers for patron use on a first-come first-served basis.

• Patrons that wish to use a computer must sign in and must present a current Military or DoD ID card.

• If all computers are in use, priority is given to students of any of the MCU schools.

• Printing limited to 25 pages per day per patron.

• One scanner in each library.

• No memory sticks, USB drives, thumb drives or flash cards may be connected to any Library computer (per MCEN 293-08).

• Retirees and family, active duty family, families with babies and small children, and children under 18 years of age must use the computers on the Quantico Base Library side.

• The Library complies with Marine Corps Bulletin 2010, which provides for monitoring of network traffic and outlines permissible and prohibited uses of the internet from government computers. When violations of this policy are observed by Library staff, they are reported to Command authorities.

COPIERS AND MICROFILM READER-PRINTER

• Copiers are available on the first deck in the room located near the Reference Desk.

• Copier use is limited to reproducing materials from the Library collections and is subject to copyright laws.

• Patrons may not use the copiers for personal use, i.e., to copy service records books, etc.

• A microfilm reader-printer is available, ask at front desk.

DATABASES

The MCU Research Library subscribes to online databases to assist MCU students, faculty and staff in conducting research. These databases are more academic and research-oriented in scope than those provided by the HQMC-MCCS/Quantico Base Library.

All databases are available for all patrons to use while onsite. Offsite access to Research Library databases is authorized for Marine Corps University students, faculty, staff, and CMC/FPME/PhD Fellows only.

For information and assistance, including instruction, usernames and passwords, contact the MCU Research Library Reference Staff at (703) 784-4411.

HEADPHONES

Headphones are available for checkout, ask at the front desk.

INTERLIBRARY LOAN (ILL)
For registered borrowers. The process usually takes 5-10 days, sometimes longer. Lending libraries determine the length of the loan.

ILL request forms are available at the Reference Desk. There is no charge for this service. If you are not a registered patron but would like to borrow from our collection, please submit a request through your local public library.

Interlibrary Loan services are not available for Quantico Base Library patrons.

INTERNET ACCESS / WI-FI
WiFi access is provided throughout the library by HQMC-MCCS Libraries. Please note that the quality of the wireless signal depends on where you are sitting in the building and the possibly the condition or quality of your computer equipment.

LOST AND FOUND
Please contact us at (703) 784-4409 if you suspect you forgot an item. We make every attempt to notify patrons who forget their Military/DoD ID or Library cards. Unclaimed Military IDs are returned to the DEERS office to be destroyed. Other unclaimed items are disposed of after 90 days.

MARINE CORPS COMMANDANT'S PROFESSIONAL READING LIST
Marine Corps Reading List materials are located on the first deck of the MCU Research Library. All titles, including audio tapes, CDs and Playaways, are located here. Some reading list titles are also available online - please check the Reading List Guide for details.

We do not lend our Marine Corps Reading List titles to other libraries.

We regret that we cannot purchase copies for Marine units.

STUDY ROOMS
Two study rooms are available on a first-come first-served basis. These rooms cannot be reserved in advance.

Manage My Account

Library Account Login

• MCU Research Library Facebook
• MCU Research Library Twitter