Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

QPME: Battle of Okinawa

This QPME guide provides information and learning resources about the United States Marine Corps role in the Battle of Okinawa, the largest amphibious assault in the Pacific War during World War II.

Featured Reading

Combat Bulletin 1: Bulletin of the Okinawa Operation MOB-56

ABOUT THIS VIDEO

Bulletin of the Okinawa Operation MOB-56. 1945 United States Marine Corps "combat bulletin" film that covers the Battle of Okinawa. Part 1 of 2. On 1 April, 1945, Allied forces landed on the shores of Okinawa. This film tells the story of the campaign. Part 1 contains footage of the naval gunfire bombardment, the amphibious assault on the beach, and movement inland over the rugged terrain of the island. Also shown is a captured Japanese "Ohka" suicide rocket plane. Source: Naval History and Heritage Command.

Combat Bulletin 2: Okinawa Bulletin No. 2 - Final Phases

ABOUT THIS VIDEO

Okinawa Bulletin No. 2 - Final Phases. 1945 United States Marine Corps "combat bulletin" film that covers the Battle of Okinawa. Part 2 of 2. Part 2 contains footage of the activities of the 1st and 6th Marine Divisions on the island. It shows artillery bombardments of Shuri Castle and Naha, Corsair resupply drops, the heavy rains during the campaign, the capture of Naha airstrip, use of flamethrowers, grenades, firebombs, and satchel charges to clear caves and other enemy positions.


The 6th Marine Division on Okinawa

ABOUT THIS VIDEO

The 6th Marine Division on Okinawa. During the campaign for Okinawa (Operation Iceberg) the Sixth Marine Division was assigned to the III Amphibious Corps. This Academy Award nominated Kodachrome color documentary film tells the story of the 82 days fighting on the Island of Okinawa. This video and more can be found on the Internet Archive.

  Research Tools Library Services General Information Quick Links  
  Databases Reference & Research Assistance Contact Us Gray Research Center  
  eJournal Portal Borrow/Renew/Return Directions/Hours/Location Marine Corps Archives  
  Library Catalog Copyright Assistance Info Island Marine Corps University  
  Marine Corps Reading List Interlibrary Loan Library News & Announcements National Museum of the Marine Corps  
  RefWorks Manage My Account Library Services & Policies Quantico Base Library  

 
This is an official U.S. Marine Corps website | Library of the Marine Corps | 2040 Broadway Street | Quantico, Virginia 22134 | 703.784.4409

Marine Corps Social Media / Privacy / Accessibility / FOIA / No Fear Act / Marines.mil / MCB Quantico / USA.gov