Circ Desk: 703-784-4348
PLEASE NOTE: During the shutdown, no staff is onsite. Phone calls are not monitored.
Please contact us on Facebook if you need assistance with your account: Quantico Base Library Facebook
Quantico Base Library
2040 Broadway Street
Quantico, VA 22134
Building 2040, Marine Base Quantico, Mainside
Due to recent national security concerns, installation law enforcement will continue to conduct 100 percent **ID checks and an increase in vehicle inspections for the foreseeable future at all MCBQ gates. Travelers can expect increased wait times at entrances and an increase in traffic near the exits of I-95 and Route 1. **All adult passengers should be prepared to present ID at the gate - state, or federal issued. Options for teens 16 years and older are: DoD dependent ID, driver's license/permit and student ID. If younger military children have DoD IDs, please have them available.
We apologize for the inconvenience this may cause, but the safety and security of the installation, personnel and family members remain a priority.
From I-95 South: Take exit 150A, Quantico/Triangle. Merge onto VA 619-E (Joplin Road) and proceed through the traffic light toward the Main gate. Once you’ve passed through the gate, follow Fuller Road for approximately 4 miles. The speed limit is 40mph until approach to the Barnett Avenue curve. Bear right onto Barnett Avenue (speed limit reduces to 25mph).
At the second traffic light at the Quantico Fire Station, turn left onto Martin Avenue, and go underneath the railroad bridge. The entrance to the GRC parking garage will be on the right. Or, turn right at the rotary onto Broadway Street, then right again at the end of Broadway. Another parking garage entrance will be on your right.
From I-95 North: Take Exit 148 Marine Base Quantico. Proceed on Russell Road to the Base gate. Once you’ve passed through the gate, travel on Russell Road approximately 3.5 miles. At the rotary by the Officer’s Club, take the third exit road and proceed on Barnett Avenue for 1.1 miles. Just after the Quantico Fire Station, turn right onto Martin Avenue, and go underneath the railroad bridge. The entrance to the GRC parking garage will be on the right. Or, turn right at the rotary onto Broadway Street, then right again at the end of Broadway. Another parking garage entrance will be on your right.
Marine Corps Base Quantico is located off of Interstate 95 in Virginia, approximately 36 miles south of Washington D.C. and 20 miles north of Fredericksburg, VA.
Military and DoD personnel must present DoD identification to access the Base 24/7. Marine sentries will assist Visitors arriving at the Base. Visitors are issued vehicle passes and given directions to their destination if necessary. Proper identification such as a valid state driver’s license is required for Base access. Vehicles may be subject to search.
The two closest airports are Dulles International (IAD) in Dulles, Va., and Ronald Reagan Washington National (DCA) in Arlington, VA. Other transportation includes a bus terminal in nearby Triangle as well as Amtrak, 800-872-7245, and Virginia Railway Express, 800-RIDE-VRE, train services. The train station is located in the Town of Quantico and is a short walk from the GRC.
Quantico Base Library Hours
The Base Library is currently closed due to COVID-19 health concerns.
NOTE: Changes in hours due to holidays schedules and emergency closings will be posted on the Library website and social media outlets, and not on this page.
The Quantico Base Library is an HQMC-MCCS Library and is located within the Gen. Alfred M. Gray Marine Corps Research Center (GRC). Parking is available in the garage across the street. Anyone is welcome to visit the Library, but only registered patrons can borrow materials.
The MCU Research Library, co-located in the GRC, is the academic library of Marine Corps University.
Both Libraries, along with a Virtual Branch that manages library systems, databases and websites, comprise the Library of the Marine Corps (LOMC).
HOURS OF OPERATION
The Libraries are open according to the times listed on their respective home pages. They are closed on all Federal holidays. Unscheduled closings due to inclement weather or other unforeseen circumstances will be posted at the front entrances to the GRC, on individual Library websites, and social media outlets.
QUANTICO BASE LIBRARY SERVICES
The following are eligible to apply for a Quantico Base Library Card:
Military ID and DoD card holders (Active Duty, local Reserve, local Retired Military or family members whose Sponsor is Active Duty, local Reserve, or local Retired Military), or Marine Corps DoD Civilians assigned to MCB Quantico as duty station. Current ID must be shown at the time of registration.
Government contractors may register and checkout materials from the library with written permission from their COR stating that this use is necessary to accomplish their statement of work.
Family members of Civilian ID card holders, and civilians that do not hold a Military/DoD IS card are NOT authorized to obtain a Library card.
Library cards must be applied for in person.
A Military or DoD ID card must be presented at the time of application.
Minors applying for a Library card must have a parent or guardian (Sponsor) present at time of registration.
The Sponsor is responsible for all materials checked out by his/her family members.
Lost or stolen Library cards should be reported immediately so that the account can be deactivated.
BORROWING & CIRCULATION POLICIES
Borrowing Items - Loan Periods
Registered patrons may borrow a total of 30 items for a loan period of 30 days (except for DVDs).
DVDs: A total of 5 DVDs may be borrowed for a loan period of 2 weeks.
Reference, Rare Books and Special Collections cannot be checked out and must be used inside the Library.
Lost or damaged materials must be replaced at patrons' expense. Please contact the Circulation Desk if your borrowed materials have been damaged.
Items can be renewed once via phone or online.
Additional renewals must be done in person at the Library, with the items to be renewed presented.
If an item has been placed on hold, the item cannot be renewed and must be returned when requested by Library staff.
Holds can be placed on items that are checked out by another patron.
Holds can be placed by calling or visiting the Quantico Base Library circulation desks. Holds cannot be placed online.
If an item has been placed on hold, the item cannot be renewed and must be returned when requested by Library staff.
Online Account Access
Patrons may access and manage their Library account online.
Borrowing privileges may be suspended until overdue items are returned.
Audio/Visual items (DVDs, CDs, Playaways) must be returned to one of the Circulation Desks Please do not deposit these items into the outside drop box. The reason for this is that the elements - heat, rain, and cold - can cause damage to these items.
Library materials may be returned to either the Base Library or Research Library circulation desks. Materials that are not audio/visual items can also be returned to the drop box located across from the GRC.
CHECKING OUT/CLEARING BASE
Patrons transferring from MCB Quantico are required to check with Circulation Desk to ensure no items remain outstanding on either their own, or their family members', library accounts.
Children under 10 years of age must be supervised by a parent or guardian and should not be left unattended. The Library staff does not serve in loco parenti, that is, in place of parents.
Children are encouraged to use the resources in the Quantico Base Library. The Academic Library side is reserved for adults to study and conduct research.
The Base Library offers numerous events for children including regularly scheduled story-time sessions, MakerSpace, and other programs.
Parents and guardians are responsible for determining which library materials and services are appropriate for their children to access. Although the Library does not employ internet filtering software, it has installed a special family-friendly page on the family library computers to assist parents in guiding their children's internet use.
The Quantico Base Library follows the American Library Association's Library Bill of Rights and Freedom to Read Statement.
COMPUTERS AND PRINTERS
NOTE: The Library staff members are NOT authorized to assist patrons with troubleshooting their personal electronic equipment.
Quantico Base Library Computers
Patrons that wish to use a computer must sign in, and must present a current Military or DoD ID card.
15 computers are available for patron use, on a first-come first-served basis.
If all computers are in use, priority is given to students of any of the MCU schools.
Printing limited to 25 pages per day per patron.
No memory sticks, USB drives, thumb drives or flash cards may be connected to any Library computer (per MCEN 293-08).
The Library complies with Marine Corps Bulletin 2010, which provides for monitoring of network traffic and outlines permissible and prohibited uses of the internet from government computers. When violations of this policy are observed by Library staff, they are reported to Command authorities.
COPIERS AND MICROFILM READER-PRINTER
Copiers are available on the first deck in the room located near the Reference Desk.
Copier use is limited to reproducing materials from Library collections and is subject to copyright laws.
Patrons may not use the copiers for personal use, i.e., to copy service records books or personal papers, etc.
A Microfilm reader-printer is also located on the first deck.
The Quantico Base Library provides a variety of online databases for educational, research, and recreational use by authorized Library patrons. Base Library databases contain content that is more "public library" in nature than those provided by the MCU Research Library.
All Quantico Base Library databases are available for onsite use by all patrons. Databases may have licensing or access restrictions for offsite use. The databases provided by HQMC-MCCS Libraries are also available at other Marine Corps Base libraries.
For information and assistance, including instruction, usernames and passwords, contact the Base Library circulation desk at (703) 784-4348.
Headphones for internet use are available at the Circulation Desk for onsite use only. Headphones are required for online training and other websites that require audio, so as not to disturb other patrons.
INTERLIBRARY LOAN (ILL)
Interlibrary Loan services are not available for Quantico Base Library patrons.
INTERNET ACCESS / WI-FI
WiFi access is provided throughout the library by HQMC-MCCS Libraries. Please note that the quality of the wireless signal depends on where you are sitting in the building and the possibly the condition or quality of your computer equipment.
LOST AND FOUND
Please contact us at (703) 784-4348 if you suspect you forgot an item. We make every attempt to notify patrons who forget their Military/DoD ID or Library cards. Unclaimed Military IDs are returned to the DEERS office to be destroyed. Other unclaimed items are disposed of after 90 days. Food is disposed of daily.
MARINE CORPS COMMANDANT'S PROFESSIONAL READING LIST
Marine Corps Reading List materials are located on the second deck of the MCU Research Library. All titles, including audio tapes, CDs and Playaways, are located here. Some reading list titles are also available online - please check the Reading List Guide for details.
Two study rooms are available on the Academic Library side, on a first-come, first-served basis. To reserve the GRC Auditorium or other conference rooms in the GRC, contact the GRC Administrative Office and consult the GRC website.
Manage My Account
The Quantico Base Library provides educational, cultural, technical, informational, and recreational library needs for military personnel and their family members stationed at Quantico, civilian employees of the Base, and retirees living in the local area. The library helps its users meet educational requirements to improve job performance and increase chances for promotion for military and civilians; enhance school performance of family members, develop reading and learning skills for children, youth and young adults, and support recreational needs of users of all ages.
|Research Tools||Library Services||General Information||Quick Links|
|Databases||Reference & Research Assistance||Contact Us||Gray Research Center|
|eJournal Portal||Borrow/Renew/Return||Directions/Hours/Location||Marine Corps Archives|
|Library Catalog||Copyright Assistance||Library Staff Training||Marine Corps University|
|Marine Corps Reading List||Interlibrary Loan||Library News & Announcements||National Museum of the Marine Corps|
|RefWorks||Manage My Account||Library Services & Policies||Quantico Base Library|