Skip to main content

Archives Branch: Personal Papers Collections

A guide to the papers of individual Marines held by the Archives Branch.

Field Harris Collection (COLL/476)

Physical characteristics: 6 standard legal size document boxes; 1 oversize box; 3 linear feet

Span Dates: 1913-1965

Scope and Content: The papers of Field Harris consist of materials relating mainly to his career with the Marine Corps and his positions as Naval Aviator, Naval Attaché , and up through his retirement as Commanding General of the Air Fleet Marine Force Atlantic. The dates of the collection range from 1913-1965.

Included in this collection are seven diaries five aviator’s flight log books, personal correspondence, certificates, photographs, newspaper clippings, Marine Corps Orders and Appointments, legal documents, maps, yearbook, personal notes, press releases, awards/citations/commendations, and ephemera. Of interest are the materials covering the period of Harris’ class at the Naval Academy (1917) through the Korean War, photographic record of 1st Marine Aircraft Wing Forward Echelon, Guadalcanal, October 1943; Bougainville, 1 November 1943; and rough drafts of chapters relating to the History of U.S. Marine Corps Operations in World War II.

The collection is arranged by subject headings and chronologically within each series. The subject headings were imposed by the processor.

Thomas Holcomb Collection (COLL/80)

Physical Characteristics: 44 standard legal size document boxes; 2 oversize boxes; 21 linear feet

Span Dates: 1892-1978

Scope and Content: The papers of Thomas Holcomb consist of materials relating mainly to his career with the Marine Corps as Major General Commandant and his position of American Minister to South Africa. The dates of the collection range from 1892-1978. Also included are some research materials gathered by Gibson B. Smith when writing a register of Holcomb’s Personal Papers. They include copies of materials from various branches of the National Archives and Records Administration (NARA).

Included in this collection is correspondence of the Office of the Commandant as well as personal correspondence, diaries kept by Holcomb, newspaper clippings, Marine Corps publications, field message books, and photographs of and taken by Holcomb. The majority of the collection consists of materials from when Holcomb was Commandant and American Minister to South Africa, but also included is some correspondence and items from time spent in China and during his retirement.

The collection is arranged alphabetically by subject headings and chronologically within each series. For all of the subject headings, some were assigned by Holcomb and others were imposed by the processor. Series in this collection include correspondence, diaries, oral histories, public relations, publications, and photographs.

Robert W. Huntington Collection (COLL/1957)

Physical characteristics: 1 standard legal size document box; 1 oversized box; 1 linear foot

Span Dates: 1856-1917

Scope and Content: The papers of Robert W. Huntington consist of materials relating to his thirty-eight year career with the Marine Corps. The dates of the collection range from 1856-1917.

Included in this collection is personal correspondence ranging from 1858-1900. The majority of which is written by Robert W. Harrington and his father Samuel Howard Huntington. Of particular note are the letters relating to Robert’s service and activities during the first Battle of Bull Run dated 21 July 1861. Other items include invitations and programs, photographs, newspaper articles, and travel notebook. The final item in the collection is a scrapbook of newspaper and magazine articles most likely compiled by Huntington’s family that discuss Huntington’s service during the Spanish-American War.

The collection is arranged chronologically within each series. All of the subject headings were assigned by the processor. Series in this collection include travel notebook, correspondence, awards & commendations, newspaper articles, ephemera, photographs, and scrapbook.

Louis R. Jones Collection (COLL/935)

Physical characteristics: 3 standard legal size document boxes; 1 oversize folder; 1.5 linear feet

Span Dates: 1918-1961

Scope and Content: This collection comprises materials relating to the Marine Corps career of Louis R. Jones from 1918-1959. Included are Jones’ official orders, commendations, and correspondence; clippings relating to World War II and Jones’ participation in conflicts in the South Pacific; a series of official War Department publications concerning amphibious operations in North Africa, the Coral Sea, and Northern France; a review copy of K.J. Clifford’s “Developmental History of the United States Marine Corps: 1900-1970;” and 137 black and white photographs (ranging in size from 3 in. x 5 in. to 8 in. x 17 in.) that document Marine Corps activities in China, Okinawa, Saipan, and Tinian during World War II.

Notable in the collection are letters of appreciation tendered to Jones by Chinese civic and military leaders upon his departure as commanding general of Marine Corps Headquarters in Peking as part of the 1st Marine Division, FMF, in 1946. Also notable is a copy of the “Tentative Plan of Attack of 6th Marines,” from World War I, dated 11 September 1918. 

Loading ...

  Research Tools Library Services General Information Quick Links  
  Databases Reference & Research Assistance Contact Us Gray Research Center  
  eJournal Portal Borrow/Renew/Return Directions/Hours/Location Marine Corps Archives  
  Library Catalog Copyright Assistance Library Staff Training Marine Corps University  
  Marine Corps Reading List Interlibrary Loan Library News & Announcements National Museum of the Marine Corps  
  RefWorks Manage My Account Library Services & Policies Quantico Base Library  

 
This is an official U.S. Marine Corps website | Library of the Marine Corps | 2040 Broadway Street | Quantico, Virginia 22134 | 703.784.4409

Marine Corps Social Media / Privacy / Accessibility / FOIA / No Fear Act / Marines.mil / MCB Quantico / USA.gov