Physical characteristics: 1 standard legal size document boxes; 0.5 linear foot
Span Dates: 1926-1992
Scope and Content: The papers of Raymond T. Kaiser consist of materials relating mainly to his career with the Marine Corps as a private and through his final position as a 1st Sergeant. The collection is arranged by subject heading and chronologically within each series. All of the subject headings were imposed by the processor. Included in this collection are personal correspondence ranging from 1943-1992, United States Marine Corps Orders & Appointments, Commendations & Awards, Promotions, Discharge Certificates, personal notes, USS Augusta operations for 14 August 1944, ephemera, to include invitations, programs, poems, and postcards, Marine Corps publications/bulletins/handouts produced by the Marine Corps, photographs, and two scrapbooks. Of particular note are the 300+ photographs related to Kaiser’s duty stations in Parris Island, SC and Quantico, VA in the mid to late 1920s.
Physical characteristics: 3 standard legal size document boxes; 1.5 linear feet
Span Dates: 1943-1975
Scope and Content: The Joseph Kohn Collection consists almost exclusively of letters written by Kohn to his family in New Jersey documenting his service in 4th Battalion, 15th Marines (4/15), 6th Marine Division during World War II. Kohn participated in action on Okinawa, and was present in Tsingtao, China during the Japanese surrender. Also included in this collection are thirty-seven (37) black and white photographs; a memoir of Kohn’s Marine Corps service; and copies of his service records.
The correspondence totals 374 letters primarily sent to Kohn’s parents and sister. In these letters, Kohn describes his Marine Corps training; the conditions while overseas; and his experiences in China at the end of the war. These letters are arranged chronologically by date.
Photographs in the collection include one of Platoon 988 at San Diego; Kohn in uniform; the Marines on Okinawa; and several taken in China. The photographs from China include images of the countryside; a Jewish religious service; and other Marines in China. Lastly, included is one photograph of a group of Marines, including Kohn, posing with a captured Japanese flag.
The collection contains various other documents including an application for National Service Life Insurance; Neptunus Rex certificate; and a written memoir of Kohn’s service.
Physical characteristics: 230 standard legal size document boxes; one oversize folder; 115 linear feet
Span Dates: 1988-1999
Scope and Content: The papers of Charles C. Krulak consist primarily of materials relating to his position as Commandant of the Marine Corps from 1995-1999. The dates of the collection range from 1988-1999. Included in this collection are reports, travel files, official correspondence, public affairs documents, and photographs.
Physical characteristics: 20 standard legal size document boxes; 8 linear feet
Span Dates: 1815-1950
Scope and Content: Correspondence, memoranda, speeches and writings, notes, military papers, and printed materials relating to Lejeune's education and military career.
Note: The John Archer Lejeune Papers are housed in the Manuscript Division of the Library of Congress. The Archives Branch maintains a reference copy of the collection.
Physical characteristics: 10 standard legal size document boxes; 5 linear feet
Span Dates: 1878-1960
Scope and Content: The Louis M. Little Collection consists of materials relating primarily to his career with the Marine Corps and his family life. The dates of the collection range from 1809-1957.
The collection includes orders, memoranda, correspondence, clippings, photographs, maps, pamphlets, speeches, and ephemera related to Little's tenure as commanding officer of Marines in Haiti from 1931-1934; Assistant to the Major General Commandant from 1935-1937; and his position as Commander of the Fleet Marine Force and the Marine Corps Base San Diego. Of particular interest are photographs of Marines training at Camp Little in Solana, California, circa 1938. Some of these photographs depict early experiments in amphibious landing and tactics.
The collection has been divided into five series, and within these series the materials are arranged chronologically. The subject headings have been altered or changed for the sake of clarity. It is unknown if the subject headings from earlier iterations of this finding aid were those used by Little or if those subject headings had been imposed by the original processor or processors of the collection. Series in this collection include correspondence, subject files, personal papers, photographs and negatives, and maps.
Physical Characteristics: 3 standard legal size document boxes; 1.5 linear feet
Span Dates: 1945-1946
Scope and Content: Louis R. “Lou” Lowery was a Marine Corps combat photographer present for the landing on Iwo Jima and was made famous for his photograph of the first flag raising on Mt. Suribachi. Included in this collection are photographs taken on the landing beaches, the flag raising, and many other images from the campaign.
His collection of photographs from the Iwo Jima campaign is a definitive example of combat photography in the Pacific theater, and among the finest images of combat from the island. Though best known for a series of photographs depicting the raising of the first flag atop Mount Suribachi on 23 February 1945 by members of Company E, 2d Battalion, 23d Marines, Lowery also captured many poignant scenes from the battle.
|Research Tools||Library Services||General Information||Quick Links|
|Databases||Reference & Research Assistance||Contact Us||Gray Research Center|
|eJournal Portal||Borrow/Renew/Return||Directions/Hours/Location||Marine Corps Archives|
|Library Catalog||Copyright Assistance||Library Staff Training||Marine Corps University|
|Marine Corps Reading List||Interlibrary Loan||Library News & Announcements||National Museum of the Marine Corps|
|RefWorks||Manage My Account||Library Services & Policies||Quantico Base Library|