Research Guides: The Basic School (TBS) Research Guide: Databases

Databases and Journals

This section provides quick links to some of the Marine Corps Research Library databases and journals that are provided for MCU Faculty, Staff and Student use. This section links to the databases and journals pages available on the Marine Corps Research Library website.

Databases, Journals, and RefWorks Resources

This is a list of top databases. See the A-Z page for a complete list.

ABI/Inform Complete (ProQuest)
Includes ABI/INFORM Global, Trade and Industry, and Dateline. Thousands of full-text journals, dissertations, working papers, key business and economics periodicals such as the Economist, country-and industry-focused reports, and downloadable data about companies and business trends around the world. See ProQuest Central for Terms of Use.
Academic Search Complete (EBSCO)
Academic journal coverage for broad areas of study, including: biological sciences, economics, communications, computer sciences, engineering, language and linguistics, arts and literature, medical sciences, and women's studies.
See EBSCO Databases (MCU Library Collection) for Terms of Use.
AULIMP (Air University Library Index to Military Periodicals)
AULIMP is a subject index to significant articles, news items, book reviews and editorials from 63 English language military and aeronautical periodicals. It has had two titles in its history: Air University Periodical Index, 1949-1962 and Air University Library Index to Military Periodicals, 1962/63-present.
CIAO (Columbia International Affairs Online Journals)
Full text articles from government research organizations, independent think tanks, university analysis centers, and scholarly journals. Comprehensive country surveys with in-depth political and economic data and detailed maps. Topics covered: international politics and related fields, security studies, global finance, diplomatic practice, humanitarian law, global governance, development studies, and environmental studies.
Congressional Publications (ProQuest)
Congressional testimonies, debates, bills & laws, House & Senate reports, legislative histories and more from 1789 to the present. SEARCH TIP: When searching this database using Boolean connectors (AND, OR, NOT) you must type them in ALL CAPS. See ProQuest Central for Terms of Use.
Countrywatch (Elite Edition)
Critical country-specific intelligence and data on demographics, politics, economics, business, culture, and the environment. The Library's subscription includes: Country Reviews, Country Wire, Country Data, Country Briefing, CountryWatch Maps, Culture Watch, CountryWatch Videos, Political Intelligence Briefing, Elections Central, Intelligence Wire, Forecast, Global Guide, Political Intelligence Zone.
DTIC (Defense Technical Information Center)
DTIC's mission is "to aggregate and fuse science and technology data to rapidly, accurately and reliably deliver the knowledge needed to develop the next generation of technologies to support our Warfighters and help assure national security."
EBSCO Databases (MCU Library Collection)
ACCESS NOTE: We are experiencing offsite access issues with this database and are working with the vendor to resolve the problem. MCU users: Try connecting to the .EDU VPN, then try to access this database.
The Library's subscription includes:
Databases: Academic Search Complete, Business Source Complete, Political Science Complete, Military and Government Collection, ISCTRC (International Security & Counter Terrorism Reference Center), America: History & Life with Full Text, Historical Abstracts with Full Text, Civil War Primary Source Documents.
E-book Collections: History Collection (North America), Academic Collection (North America), Harvard Business Review Press Collection.
Economist Intelligence Unit (EIU)
REMOTE ACCESS NOTE: To sign in with OpenAthens, select the name Library of the Marine Corps (USMC/Marines) from the institution list.
EIU is the research and analysis division of the Economist Group, providing forecasting and advisory services through research and analysis, such as monthly country reports, five-year country economic forecasts, country risk service reports, and industry reports. The Library's subscription includes: Country Analysis Advanced Global and Risk Briefing/Operational Risk Global editions with content about country reports, forecasts, data, commerce, full set of industry briefings, world commodity forecasts, market indicators and forecasts, and operational risk.
HeinOnline Academic and FastCase Premium
Primary and authoritative sources with more than 3,000 multidisciplinary journals in history, education, psychology, ecology, political science, criminal justice, space sciences, medicine, religion, economics, business; case law, international law, original treaties, national constitutions, and foreign policy documents.
Homeland Security Digital Library
The Homeland Security Digital Library (HSDL) is the nation’s premier collection of documents related to homeland security policy, strategy, and organizational management. The HSDL is sponsored by the U.S. Department of Homeland Security’s National Preparedness Directorate, FEMA and the Naval Postgraduate School Center for Homeland Defense and Security.
ISCTRC (International Security & Counter Terrorism Reference Center) (EBSCO)
ISCTRC combines scholarly peer-reviewed journals with expert commentary from a variety of organizations, agencies and publishers. It provides timely reviews of recent developments across the international political, military, economic, social and technical spectrum. Nearly 3,000 full-text resources, including reports from Stratfor Analysis, Stratfor Forecasts and Stratfor Geopolitical Diary.
See EBSCO Databases (MCU Library Collection) for Terms of Use.
JSTOR Archival Journal & Primary Source Collection
JSTOR provides images of back issues of selected scholarly journals in the humanities, social sciences, and other subjects. Over 12 million journal articles, books, images, and primary sources in 75 disciplines
Back Issues/Embargoes: All journal archives start with volume 1, issue 1, up to what is called a "moving wall." This means that the most recent 1 or 2 years are not added to the JSTOR archives until they "age into" the collection.
ACCESS NOTE: Off-campus users might need to return to the main JSTOR link to re-authenticate and gain access to content.

Joint Lessons Learned Information System (JLLIS)
Joint Lessons Learned Information System is the Department of Defense (DOD) system of record and automated enterprise solution supporting the Chairman's Joint Lessons Learned Program (JLLP)
Marine Corps Center for Lessons Learned (MCCLL)
The Marine Corps Center for Lessons Learned (MCCLL) actively collects, analyzes, publishes and archives lessons learned materials to include observations, insights, lessons (OILs), trends, After Action Reports (AARs) and Marine Corps lessons learned reports. These efforts support training and planning for both exercises and operations, as well as the warfighting capability development process. MCCLL focuses on tactics, techniques and procedures of immediate importance to the operating forces thereby identifying gaps and best practices, and recommending solutions across the doctrine, organization, training, materiel, leadership, personnel and facilities (DOTMLPF) spectrum. Sharepoint site.

Military Periscope
ACCESS NOTE: The Library subscription allows for 25 offsite users at a time. If you are trying to access from offsite and can't, all user seats may be in use. Try accessing using the .EDU VPN, instead.
Open-source information on the world’s military systems, orders of battle, equipment inventories, plans, and programs. Includes a daily news portal and information on the armed forces of 165 nations; weapon systems around the globe; and in-depth details on terrorist organizations. Originally developed by the United States Naval Institute in 1986. Access note for Offsite Users: After logging in at the MCU Research Libraries Databases verification page, click on "login" link at the Military Periscope home page. The site will automatically log you in.
Praeger Security International (PSI) (Student Edition)
PSI covers international affairs, foreign policy, security, military, history, terrorism, homeland security and strategy. E-books, reference library, and contemporary scholarly database. See Praeger Security International for Terms of Use.
ProQuest Central
This multidisciplinary research database provides access to ProQuest's most popular databases across all major subject areas, including business, health and medical, social sciences, arts and humanities, education, science and technology, and religion. Includes thousands of full-text scholarly journals, trade and professional titles, newspapers, magazines, dissertations, working papers, case studies, and market reports all together on one platform.
ACCESS NOTE: The default search searches more than one collection. Change the default search by clicking on the "Change Databases" link at the top of the ProQuest Central home page. Check/uncheck the databases to customize your search.
ProQuest Super Search
This is the most extensive ProQuest search available -- it will search across MCU's entire subscription (databases, ebooks, newspapers, dissertations, and more) in one super search.
RANE Worldview (formerly Stratfor)
Political, economic & military intelligence forecasting and analysis. Majority of content does not import into Library catalog - it's best to explore this resource on its own.

BrowZine lets users browse MCU Library print and electronic journals holdings by subject as well as search by title.
Click here to see a training video from the database vendor.

You can also search journal holdings in the MCU Library catalog, Primo. Change the search filter below the search box to "journal". To limit results when you search for a specific title, change filters to "exact phrase" and "in the title":

Click the title to see the detailed record:

Scroll down to Get It / View It to see physical holdings:

RefWorks is an online research management, writing and collaboration tool designed to help researchers easily gather, manage, store and share all types of information, as well as generate citations and bibliographies.

To sign up and use RefWorks:

1. Click here to sign up for an individual account.

2. Use your usmcu.edu email address to register.

3. Fill in the required information including your school and year.

4. Check your email account for the confirmation email and confirm your account to get started.

Need training? Clarivate has created a Refworks research guide that offers a collection of self-serve resources—including walkthroughs, video tutorials, and quick-start guides—that cover all the key features.

This page links to vendor-provided training resources:

Database	Vendor	Videos	Guides / Handouts
BrowZine	Third Iron	YouTube
EBSCO Academic Search (articles)	EBSCO	YouTube	Research Tips guide; Features at a glance
EBSCO Ebooks	EBSCO	YouTube	Ebsco Connect
HeinOnline Academic and FastCase	HeinOnline	YouTube	LibGuides
JSTOR	JSTOR	YouTube	LibGuides
Praeger Security International	ABC-CLIO		User Guide
ProQuest platform (articles)	Clarivate	Clarivate	Proquest Platform
ProQuest Ebook Central	Clarivate	Clarivate	Quick User Guides
RefWorks	ProQuest	YouTube	LibGuides

	Hours of Operation	Contact Us	Social Media
	Current Hours	Circulation Desk: (703) 784-4409	Twitter
		Reference Desk: (703) 784-4411	Facebook
		We are an FDLP Library
This is an official U.S. Marine Corps website \| Library of the Marine Corps \| 2040 Broadway Street \| Quantico, Virginia 22134 \| 703.784.4409 Marine Corps Social Media / Accessibility / FOIA / No Fear Act / Marines.mil / MCB Quantico / USA.gov