Skip to main content

Archives Branch, Marine Corps History Division

The Archives Branch collects and preserves archival materials that are significant to the history of the Marine Corps.

Conducting Research in the Archives Branch

The Archives Branch's reading room is open from 8:00 a.m. - 4:00 p.m., Monday-Friday, except holidays.  Patrons will be notified of the reading room’s closing at 3:45 pm; please note that no materials will be pulled after 3:45 pm.

We ask that you give us 24 hours' notice prior to your visit.  Depending on the complexity of the topic, and the size of the request, it can take an hour or longer for us to retrieve the materials.  Contacting us in advance of your visit will allow us to prepare materials before you arrive, thus saving you time for your research.

You will be required to complete a Researcher Registration Form and to produce identification before you can view any materials.  The Researcher Registration Form includes the rules for using the Reading Room.

Occasionally, there are materials that cannot be viewed due to classification restrictions or the presence of personally-identifiable information that has not been redacted. 

To schedule an appointment or ask a question, please call (703) 784-4685 or email mcu_archives@usmcu.edu.

Requesting Copies of Materials

Due to staffing restrictions and the high volume of patrons we serve, the number of photocopies and scans we can provide for civilian researchers is limited to 50 photocopies or scans per month and/or 700 MB of digitized material.  Please call (703) 784-4685 or email mcu_archives@usmcu.edu to inquire about requesting materials.

Permission to publish

Materials in the Archives Branch are property of the United States Government, and as such, are not policed for copyright infringement.  Materials in our collections can be considered to be in the public domain, though there are exceptions.  Please contact us with any questions concerning reproducing our materials in print.  Written permission from the Marine Corps History Division is not required for usage.

Citing Materials in our Collections

Researchers wishing to cite collections in the Archives should include the following information:

[Name of Collection], [Folder heading], [Collection Number], Archives Branch, Marine Corps History Division, Quantico, VA.

For example:

Smedley D. Butler Collection, Official correspondence, 1914, COLL/3124, Archives Branch, Marine Corps History Division, Quantico, VA

  Research Tools Library Services General Information Quick Links  
  Databases Reference & Research Assistance Contact Us Gray Research Center  
  eJournal Portal Borrow/Renew/Return Directions/Hours/Location Marine Corps Archives  
  Library Catalog Copyright Assistance Library Staff Portal Marine Corps University  
  Marine Corps Reading List Interlibrary Loan Library News & Announcements National Museum of the Marine Corps  
  RefWorks Manage My Account Library Services & Policies Quantico Base Library  

 
This is an official U.S. Marine Corps website | Library of the Marine Corps | 2040 Broadway Street | Quantico, Virginia 22134 | 703.784.4409

Marine Corps Social Media / Privacy / Accessibility / FOIA / No Fear Act / Marines.mil / MCB Quantico / USA.gov