Research Guides: Command & Staff College (CSC): Databases &amp; Journals

Databases and Journals

This section provides quick links to selected MCU Research Library databases that are provided for faculty, staff and student use. To see the complete listing of subscription and open source databases, go to the A-Z Databases page. Use the second tab below to search/browse for journals by title or subject using BrowZine. .

Databases, Journals, and RefWorks Resources

Academic Search Complete (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
See EBSCO Databases (MCU Library Collection) for the Terms of Use for this database.
Journal coverage for most academic areas of study, including: biological sciences, economics, communications, computer sciences, engineering, language and linguistics, arts and literature, medical sciences, and women's studies.
AULIMP (Air University Library Index to Military Periodicals) This link opens in a new window
AULIMP is a subject index to significant articles, news items, book reviews and editorials from 63 English language military and aeronautical periodicals. It has had two titles in its history: Air University Periodical Index, 1949-1962 and Air University Library Index to Military Periodicals, 1962/63-present.
Congressional Publications (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
See ProQuest Central for the Terms of Use for this database.
Congressional testimonies, debates, bills & laws, House & Senate reports, legislative histories and more from 1789 to the present. SEARCH TIP: When searching this database using Boolean connectors (AND, OR, NOT) you must type them in ALL CAPS.
Countrywatch (Elite Edition) This link opens in a new window
Critical country-specific intelligence and data on demographics, politics, economics, business, culture, and the environment. The Library's subscription includes: Country Reviews, Country Wire, Country Data, Country Briefing, CountryWatch Maps, Culture Watch, CountryWatch Videos, Political Intelligence Briefing, Elections Central, Intelligence Wire, Forecast, Global Guide, Political Intelligence Zone.
DTIC (Defense Technical Information Center) This link opens in a new window
DTIC's mission is "to aggregate and fuse science and technology data to rapidly, accurately and reliably deliver the knowledge needed to develop the next generation of technologies to support our Warfighters and help assure national security."
Economist Intelligence Unit (EIU) This link opens in a new window
The Economist Intelligence Unit (EIU) is the research and analysis division of the Economist Group, providing forecasting and advisory services through research and analysis, such as monthly country reports, five-year country economic forecasts, country risk service reports, and industry reports. The Library subscription includes: Country Analysis Advanced Global and Risk Briefing/Operational Risk Global editions with content about country reports, forecasts, data, commerce, full set of industry briefings, world commodity forecasts, market indicators and forecasts, and operational risk.
Homeland Security Digital Library This link opens in a new window
The Homeland Security Digital Library (HSDL) is the nation’s premier collection of documents related to homeland security policy, strategy, and organizational management. The HSDL is sponsored by the U.S. Department of Homeland Security’s National Preparedness Directorate, FEMA and the Naval Postgraduate School Center for Homeland Defense and Security.
JSTOR Archival Journal & Primary Source Collection This link opens in a new window
Access Note: Off-campus users might need to return to the main JSTOR link to re-authenticate and gain access to content.

Back Issues/Embargoes: JSTOR provides images of back issues of selected scholarly journals in the humanities, social sciences, and other subjects. All journal archives start with volume 1, issue 1, up to what is called a "moving wall." This means that the most recent 1 or 2 years are not added to the JSTOR archives until they "age into" the collection.
Praeger Security International (PSI) (Student Edition) This link opens in a new window
See Praeger Security International for terms of use for this resource.
Ebook collection, reference library, and contemporary scholarly database. Covers international affairs, foreign policy, security, military, history, terrorism, homeland security and strategy.
ProQuest Central This link opens in a new window
Access Note: The default search searches more than 1 collection. Change the default search by clicking on the "Change Databases" link at the top of the ProQuest Central home page. Check/uncheck the databases to customize your search.

Multidisciplinary database covering topics in Business, Health and Medical, Social Sciences, Education, Politics, Criminal Justice, Linguistics, Religion, and SciTech, Performing and Visual Arts, History, Philosophy, and Language and Literature. Content includes scholarly journals, high-value market research, country, economic, and industry reports, working papers, full-text dissertations, professional journals, general interest periodicals, and full-text global news sources.
Stratfor Worldview This link opens in a new window
Political, economic & military intelligence forecasting and analysis.

BrowZine lets users browse MCU Library print and electronic journals holdings by subject as well as search by title.

RefWorks is an online research management, writing and collaboration tool designed to help researchers easily gather, manage, store and share all types of information, as well as generate citations and bibliographies.

To sign up and use RefWorks:

1. Click here to sign up for an individual account.

2. Use your usmcu.edu email address to register.

3. Fill in the required information including your school and year.

4. Check your email account for the confirmation email and confirm your account to get started.

	Hours of Operation	Contact Us	Social Media
	Current Hours	Circulation Desk: (703) 784-4409	Twitter
		Reference Desk: (703) 784-4411	Facebook
		FDLP Library

This is an official U.S. Marine Corps website \| Library of the Marine Corps \| 2040 Broadway Street \| Quantico, Virginia 22134 \| 703.784.4409 Marine Corps Social Media / Accessibility / FOIA / No Fear Act / Marines.mil / MCB Quantico / USA.gov