Research Guides: Archives Branch, Marine Corps History Division: Our Mission

Our Mission

The mission of the Archives Branch of the Marine Corps History Division is to acquire, preserve, and provide access to primary source materials pertinent to the history of the Marine Corps. We support the Professional Military Education (PME) requirements of Marine Corps Schools; the Marine Corps worldwide; as well as government and civilian researchers.

Collection Overview

The Archives collects materials in four primary areas:

1. Personal Papers
Personal papers are comprised of, but not limited to, correspondence, memoirs, diaries, scrapbooks, albums, maps, plans, and photographs pertaining to the history of the Marine Corps generated and/or collected by individuals. These collections may contain print and electronic media and primarily enter the collection via donation offers.

2. Command Chronologies
Command chronologies are, according to Marine Corps Order 5750.1H, generated and submitted directly to the Archives Branch by Marine Corps units on a monthly, semi-annual, or annual basis. Command Chronologies can carry security-related issues, which impact processing, storage, access, reproduction, and disposal.

For information on completing and submitting a Command Chronology, please visit the Marine Corps University History Division Command Chronology Program webpage. Thank you.

For questions, please contact History Division via email at history.division@usmcu.edu.

3. Marine Corps University Materials
Marine Corps University materials are comprised of, but not limited to, student papers, faculty research materials, academic regulations, briefs and syllabi (i.e., materials generated by the attendant Marine Corps Schools). Student papers are submitted by each school following the conclusion of the academic year; other materials in this category are added to the collection at the discretion of the director or administrator of the school(s).

4. Select Official and Unofficial Marine Corps Unit Materials
Marine Corps records are comprised of records and papers that (1) are not subject to the Federal Records Schedule, (2) have historical value to the Marine Corps and (3) are pertinent to the mission of the Archives. These materials include, but not limited to, studies, reports, albums and scrapbooks documenting activity of units not featured in command chronologies. Such materials enter the collection as transfers directly from Marine Corps units on an irregular basis. These can carry with them security-related issues, which impact processing, access, and reproduction.

Relevance to and consistency with the purpose and mission of the Archives and Special Collections Branch
Avoids inappropriate duplication
Authenticity (whether an item is an original or a copy)
Possible legal or ethical restrictions
Historical significance
Accuracy and quality as a historical document
Accuracy and quality as a historical document
- a.unaltered, if original
- b.accurately copied from original sources, if copy
Evidential or informational value
Relevance to resident collections
The acquisition is viewed with an eye toward permanency
Any item that does not fulfill the mission of the Archives and Special Collections Branch
2. Command Chronologies

Command chronologies are, according to Marine Corps Order 5750.1H, generated and submitted directly to the Archives and Special Collections Branch by Marine Corps units on a monthly, semi-annual, or annual basis. They can carry security-related issues, which impact processing, storage, access, reproduction and disposal.

3. Marine Corps University Materials

Marine Corps University materials are comprised of, but not limited to, student papers, faculty research materials, academic regulations, briefs and syllabi. Student papers are submitted by each school following the conclusion of the academic year. The remainder of materials in this category enters the collection via and at the discretion of the director or administrator of the school.

4. Select Official and Unofficial Marine Corps Unit Materials

Marine Corps records are comprised of records and papers that (1) are not subject to the Federal Records Schedule, (2) have historical value to the Marine Corps and (3) are pertinent to the mission of the Archives. These materials include, but not limited to, studies, reports, albums and scrapbooks documenting activity of units not featured in command chronologies. Such materials enter the collection as transfers directly from Marine Corps units on an irregular basis. These can carry with them security-related issues, which impact processing, access, and reproduction.