Skip to main content

Archives Branch, Marine Corps History Division

The Archives Branch collects and preserves archival materials that are significant to the history of the Marine Corps.

COVID-19 Operating Status

ATTENTION PATRONS AND RESEARCHERS

As a public health precaution to prevent the spread of COVID-19, the Archives Branch is open by appointment only. Please email us at history.division@usmcu.edu to schedule. We ask that you give us 24 hours' notice in advance of your arrival.

Also, the donation of artifacts/materials has been suspended until further notice. Please check back for updates. 

News & Announcements

Base Access for Civilian Researchers

Attention researchers!  Please note that effective immediately, base access is restricted.  Please call (703) 784-4685 or email history.division@usmcu.edu for more information.

Marine Corps History Division on Instagram

Insta-archives, at your service. #flashbackfriday has never been more fun!

Base Access for Civilian Researchers

Attention researchers!  Please note that effective immediately, base access is restricted.  Please call (703) 784-4685 or email history.division@usmcu.edu for more information.

Marine Corps History Division on Facebook

Follow our Facebook page for HD news, announcements, and highlights from our collections.

Base Access for Civilian Researchers

Attention researchers!  Please note that effective immediately, base access is restricted.  Please call (703) 784-4685 or email history.division@usmcu.edu for more information.

Marine Corps History Division on Flickr

Visit our Flickr page to view thousands of official Marine Corps archival photos, and documents and photos donated by Marines. Feel free to download the ones you like!

Marine Corps History Division on Twitter

Follow us on Twitter for motivating Marine Corps tweets!

Contact the Archives Branch

Telephone

(703) 784-4685

Email

Archives Branch reference requests and general inquiries: history.division@usmcu.edu

Command Chronology requests and submissions: mcu_5750@usmcu.edu

Archives Hours

Monday - Friday:                       0800-1600
Weekend & Federal holidays:   Closed

Please note: The Archives Branch is closed on weekends and on federal holidays.  Emergency closings will be posted on the Archives homepage and the Archives Facebook page.

Mailing Address

Archives Branch, Marine Corps History Division
2044 Broadway Street
Quantico, VA  22134

Before visiting the Archives Branch, please review the following information: Conducting In-Person Research

Physical Location:

2044 Broadway Street
Quantico, VA  22134

Visitors should the access the Archives via the Warner Center lobby (click here for driving directions) The Archives reference desk and reading room are on the first deck.

Base Access

Due to recent national security concerns, installation law enforcement will continue to conduct 100 percent **ID checks and an increase in vehicle inspections for the foreseeable future at all MCBQ gates. Travelers can expect increased wait times at entrances and an increase in traffic near the exits of I-95 and Route 1. **All adult passengers should be prepared to present ID at the gate - state, or federal issued. Options for teens 16 years and older are: DoD dependent ID, driver's license/permit and student ID. If younger military children have DoD IDs, please have them available.

We apologize for the inconvenience this may cause, but the safety and security of the installation, personnel and family members remain a priority.

Marine Corps Base Quantico is located off of Interstate 95 in Virginia, approximately 36 miles south of Washington, DC and 20 miles north of Fredericksburg, VA.

The two closest airports are Dulles International (IAD) in Dulles, Va., and Ronald Reagan Washington National (DCA) in Arlington, VA. Other transportation includes a bus terminal in nearby Triangle as well as Amtrak (1-800-872-7245) and Virginia Railway Express (1-800-RIDE-VRE) train services. The train station is located in the Town of Quantico and the Warner Center is a short walk from the station.

Visit our social media sites for daily updates and items from our collections on Marine Corps history, including trivia, people, archival documents, photographs, videos and more. 

  Research Tools Library Services General Information Quick Links  
  Databases Reference & Research Assistance Contact Us Gray Research Center  
  eJournal Portal Borrow/Renew/Return Directions/Hours/Location Marine Corps Archives  
  Library Catalog Copyright Assistance Library Staff Training Marine Corps University  
  Marine Corps Reading List Interlibrary Loan Library News & Announcements National Museum of the Marine Corps  
  RefWorks Manage My Account Library Services & Policies Quantico Base Library  

 
This is an official U.S. Marine Corps website | Library of the Marine Corps | 2040 Broadway Street | Quantico, Virginia 22134 | 703.784.4409

Marine Corps Social Media / Privacy / Accessibility / FOIA / No Fear Act / Marines.mil / MCB Quantico / USA.gov