Battle Studies, Country Studies, & Staff Rides

Personal author: Henry J. Krauss Jr., U.S. Naval War College, 1993

By Lieutenant Colonel Michael Bonura, USA;
Major Michael Padilla, USAF;
Major Kwan Seop Lee, Republic of Korea Army; Marine Corps History, Vol. 1, Issue 2 (Winter 2016). pp. 58-69.

by Robert Schmidt, et al, U.S. Army Combat Studies Institute, 23 May 1984. At dawn on 15 September, 1950, the US X Corps, MG Edward M. Almond commanding, began landing over the difficult and treacherous beaches at Inchon, on the west coast of Korea, more than 150 miles north of the battlefront, and west of Seoul. Strategic surprise was complete, although a 2-day preliminary bombardment had warned the few NKA detachments in and about Seoul. The 1st Marine Division swept through slight opposition, securing Kimpo airport. The 7th Infantry Division, following the Marines ashore, turned south, cutting the railroad and highway supplying the NKA in the South, and Seoul was surrounded.

Marolda, Edward J. 2010. Naval History 24 (5): 38–45.
Throughout the Cold War, Navy-Marine Corps amphibious forces, aircraft carrier battle groups, and surface warships bristling with guns (and eventually long-range ship-to-shore missiles) discouraged aggression around the world and, when necessary, contributed to the success of American arms. [...] MacArthur's star would shine much brighter after such a victory.

Personal author: John D. Jordan., Naval War College, 1995. American military history provides many excellent examples of power projection launched from the sea. One such case is General MacArthur's bold operational stroke at Inchon and the ensuing envelopment and defeat of North Korean forces in September 1950. The changed world order and the corresponding realignment of the U.S. strategic direction and increasingly limited military resources and reductions in forward basing of U.S. forces has effected changes in the U.S. naval strategic course. This has resulted in a greater emphasis on power projection. from the sea: a medium which offers virtually unrestricted access and provides U.S. commanders a measure of flexibility in responding to conflicts in the littoral regions of the world--where most conflicts occur. Aspects of Operation CHROMITE are analyzed and they reveal information and lessons applicable to the challenges U.S. forces will face in future regional contingencies. Favorable resolution of threats to U.S. national security will necessarily mandate the projection of power from the sea. These operations will be conducted against increasingly capable adversaries under extreme operational conditions.

Personal author: Edward W. Sheehan, Naval War College, 1996
Although there has been criticism of logistical efforts during the early phase of the Korean war, there has been no distinction made between logistics at the strategic, operational, or tactical levels. An analysis of Operation Chromite, the amphibious landing at Inchon, reveals that logistical shortcomings were primarily at the strategic level, while successful efforts at the operational level helped overcome strategic deficiencies. An assessment of efforts to prepare the logistics battlefield, organize the logistics force, source the resources, create logistics flexibility, provide the commander's intent, and define the logistics focus of effort demonstrate that operational logistics was a key enabler in Operation Chromite. This analysis leads to several operational lessons learned that, as resources become more scarce, become even more critical. These lessons should be kept in the forefront by logisticians during the planning and execution of campaigns and operations.

Fernandez, Francisco D. (Lieutenant Colonel). Quantico, Virginia. Marine Corps University, Command and Staff College (CSC), 2013. The purpose of this study is to examine the continuing need for robust amphibious capabilities for the Armed Forces of the Philppines (AFP) in order to respond to the country's evolving threats and security challenges. It proposes a National Maneuver Force (NMF) Exercise Concept that the AFP should insitutionalize to ensure the effective utility of amphibious operations within the framework in which the NMB has been conceived. To highlight this requirement, the paper will explore the historical case study of Operation Chromite. It fuses lessons from Chromite to ascertain the key operational factors that are relevant to the Philiipines' security challenges.

April 25, 2018

The Archives Branch maintains collections of primary sources pertaining to Marine Corps involvement in the Korean War. This artificial collection consists of official publications, analyses, historical summaries, after action reports, operation orders, maps, overlays, photographs, doctrinal publications, correspondence, interviews, and various secondary sources related to Marine Corps activities in Korea, 1950 - 1954.

[Korean War. Inchon Landing task organization: objective to build up UN forces in South Korea to point of staging an effective operation against North Korean forces.] Commander, Seventh Fleet, Operation Plan No. 9-50. Sept. 9, 1950. 5p. Annexes: (A) Assignment of Forces. 4p.; (B) Concept of Operation. 2p.; (C) Air Operations Plan. 15p., il.; (D) Movement Plan. 13p., il.; (E) Intelligence. 19 p.; (F) Communication Plans. 21p.; (G) Logistics. 8p.; (H) Distribution. 2 p.; (I) Command Relations. 2p.; (J)Protective Measures. 1 p.; (K) Post Assault Supporting Measures. 1 p.; (L) Public Information Plan. 2p.;(M) D-1 Day Reconnaissance Plan. 2p. TOP SECRET. Declassified Mar. 31, 1975. Department Of Defense, 9 Sept. 1950. Database: U.S. Declassified Documents Online,

See Item #36 for Operation CHROMITE (Inchon Landing)

Links from the National Archives

Contains photographs pg 32-62.

The Archives Branch maintains collections of primary sources pertaining to Marine Corps involvement in the Korean War. This artificial collection consists of official publications, analyses, historical summaries, after action reports, operation orders, maps, overlays, photographs, doctrinal publications, correspondence, interviews, and various secondary sources related to Marine Corps activities in Korea, 1950 - 1954.