Archives Branch: Campaign Collections
Korean War
Official Documents from the Korean War
The Archives Branch maintains collections of primary sources pertaining to Marine Corps involvement in the Korean War. This artificial collection consists of official publications, historical summaries, after action reports, operation orders, maps, overlays, photographs, diagrams, correspondence, interviews, and various secondary sources related to Marine Corps activities in Korea, 1950-1954. The collection spans 34 boxes (17 linear feet).
If you have any questions about these collections, please contact the Archives at (703) 784-4685 or history.division@usmcu.edu.
Note: When requesting materials from these collections, please provide the following information: collection name, collection number, and box number (i.e., Korean War Collection, COLL/3808, Boxes 10-13).
- Korean War Collection finding aidOfficial records of Marine Corps units in the Korean War held by the Archives Branch.
Index to Korean War Personal Papers Collections​
The Archives Branch maintains indexes of personal papers collections to serve as pathfinders for prospective researchers. The criteria for selecting collections for inclusion in this index is limited to those personal papers that contain materials pertinent to the study of the Korean War.
Collections in these indexes are comprised of official Marine Corps records, documents, and publications; letters and correspondence; manuscript drafts; photographs; maps; memoirs and reminiscences; clippings and articles; oral histories and interviews; and realia and ephemera.
If you have any questions about these collections, please contact the Archives at (703) 784-4685 or history.division@usmcu.edu.
- Korean War Collections IndexA register of personal papers collections held by the Archives Branch relevant to the study of the Korean War.
- Chosin Collections IndexThis index highlights some of the collections related to the Chosin Reservoir campaign during the Korean War (November-December 1950), focusing on those that have notable or unique content.
Photographs from the Korean War
The Archives Branch maintains a Flickr page dedicated to showcasing photographs found in our collections. Of these, approximately 680 images document Marine Corps activities during the Korean War.
Among the photographs featured are images of Inchon, Yudam-ni, Hagaru-ri, as well as Marine luminaries such as Lewis "Chesty" Puller and O. P. Smith.
Please note that some of the photographs found on our Flickr pages are considered public domain and have been cleared for release. While some imagery is public domain, any use of such imagery from this site must be attributed to the U.S. Marine Corps, or the individual photographer. Photographs may not be used to deface the reputation of the Marine Corps, its personnel, or policies. Additionally, some imagery on this site may fall under copyright protection, such as imagery from personal photo collections donated to the Archives. Please contact us for more information regarding proper use of and/or copyright restrictions for these images.
- Korean War Photographs on Archives Branch FlickrSelections of Korean War era photographs from the collections of the Archives Branch
Korean War Maps
- Korean War Maps: Department of History, West PointSelection of downloadable PDF maps depicting the movements and activities of the UN, the North Korean Army, and the Communist Chinese forces. These maps were produced by the Department of History at West Point Academy for use in publications.
- Korean War Map ProjectAn exhaustive and authoritative collection of Army Map Service maps from the Korean War. Maps are arranged by series and sheet number, and searchable by location. Available as downloadable PDFs.
Publications and Monographs produced by the Marine Corps History Division
Available as full-text, searchable PDFs from the Government Publishing Office.
- "Drive North: U.S. Marines at the Punchbowl"by Colonel Allan R. Millett, USMCR
- "Fire Brigade: U.S. Marines in the Pusan Perimeter"by Captain John C. Chapin, USMCR
- "Stalemate: U.S. Marines from Bunker Hill to the Hook"by Bernard C. McNalty
- "Whirlybirds: U.S. Marine Helicopters in Korea"by Lieutenant Colonel Ronald J. Brown,USMCR
Other Korean War Primary Sources
- Korean War Unit DiariesMarine Corps historical unit diaries from the Korean War Project.
- Central Intelligence Agency: Analysis of the Korean WarNational estimates, intelligence memos, daily updates, and summaries of foreign media concerning developments on the Korean Peninsula, 1947-1954.