Skip to main content

Archives Branch: Command Chronology Program

Website of the Marine Corps Archives Command Chronology Program.

Execution

Command Chronologies are submitted directly to the Archives. 

HHQ may issue orders, directives, or policy letters to its MSEs that reinforces policy and guidelines for the Command Chronology Program and applies additional and/or specific HHQ commands and coordinating instructions in regards to creation and submission of Command Chronologies. HHQs within the operating forces are considered to be regiments, aircraft groups, divisions, brigades, aircraft wings, logistics groups, Marine Corps Force headquarters, and such Marine Air Ground Task Force (MAGTF) organizations as Marine Expeditionary Units (MEU), Marine Expeditionary Brigades (MEB), and Marine Expeditionary Forces (MEF).

Routing Command Chronologies via the chain of command is the most common command coordinating instruction issued from HHQ. Routing via chain of command promotes the sanctity of the chain of command and ensures timely, accurate and comprehensive submissions to the Archives Branch, History Division.

Please note that routing via the chain of command does not alleviate the requirement to submit to the Archives. It is the responsibility of the individual unit to ensure that a copy is submitted to the Archives. 

 

  Research Tools Library Services General Information Quick Links  
  Databases Reference & Research Assistance Contact Us Gray Research Center  
  eJournal Portal Borrow/Renew/Return Directions/Hours/Location Marine Corps Archives  
  Library Catalog Copyright Assistance Library Staff Training Marine Corps University  
  Marine Corps Reading List Interlibrary Loan Library News & Announcements National Museum of the Marine Corps  
  RefWorks Manage My Account Library Services & Policies Quantico Base Library  

 
This is an official U.S. Marine Corps website | Library of the Marine Corps | 2040 Broadway Street | Quantico, Virginia 22134 | 703.784.4409

Marine Corps Social Media / Privacy / Accessibility / FOIA / No Fear Act / Marines.mil / MCB Quantico / USA.gov