Skip to main content

Archives Branch: Campaign Collections

Official records documenting the Marine Corps' involvement in various campaigns.

Vietnam War

 

Official Documents from the Vietnam War 

 

The Archives Branch maintains collections of primary sources pertaining to Marine Corps involvement in the Vietnam War.  This artificial collection consists of official publications, analyses, historical summaries, after action reports, operation orders, maps, overlays, photographs, diagrams, blueprints, doctrinal publications, correspondence, interviews, and various secondary sources related to Marine Corps activities in Vietnam, dated  1954 - 2004.  The collection spans 38 boxes (19 linear feet).

 

If you have any questions about these collections, please contact the Archives at (703) 784-4685 or mcu_archives@usmcu.edu.

Note: When requesting materials from these collections, please provide the following information: collection name, collection number, and box number (i.e., Vietnam War Collection, COLL/3808, Boxes 1-3).

Joseph Big Medicine

 

Index to Vietnam War Personal Papers Collections

 

The Archives Branch maintains indexes of personal papers collections to serve as pathfinders for prospective researchers.  The criteria for selecting collections for inclusion in this index is limited to those personal papers that contain materials pertinent to the study of the Marine Corps' involvement in the Vietnam War.


Collections in these indexes are comprised of official Marine Corps records, documents, and publications; letters and correspondence; manuscript drafts; photographs; maps; memoirs and reminiscences; clippings and articles; oral histories and interviews; and ephemera.

 

Vietnam War Photographs


The Archives Branch maintains a Flickr page dedicated to showcasing photographs found in our collections. Of these, approximately 1,900 images document Marine Corps activities during the Vietnam War.
 
Among the photographs featured are images of individual Marines, such as Carlos Hathcock; ground unit operations; civil affairs endeavors; and vehicles and equipment.  Also included are images from numerous combat operations, including Operation Dewey Canyon and the battle for Hue City, among others.
 
Please note that some of the photographs found on our Flickr pages are considered public domain and have been cleared for release. While some imagery is public domain, any use of such imagery from this site must be attributed to the U.S. Marine Corps, or the individual photographer. Photographs may not be used to deface the reputation of the Marine Corps, its personnel, or policies.  Additionally, some imagery on this site may fall under copyright protection, such as imagery from personal photo collections donated to the Archives. Please contact us for more information regarding proper use of and/or copyright restrictions for these images.

 

Vietnam War Maps

 

Publications and Monographs produced by the Marine Corps History Division

Available as full-text, searchable PDFs from the Government Publishing Office.

Other Vietnam War Primary Sources

Loading ...

  Research Tools Library Services General Information Quick Links  
  Databases Reference & Research Assistance Contact Us Gray Research Center  
  eJournal Portal Borrow/Renew/Return Directions/Hours/Location Marine Corps Archives  
  Library Catalog Copyright Assistance Library Staff Portal Marine Corps University  
  Marine Corps Reading List Interlibrary Loan Library News & Announcements National Museum of the Marine Corps  
  RefWorks Manage My Account Library Services & Policies Quantico Base Library  

 
This is an official U.S. Marine Corps website | Library of the Marine Corps | 2040 Broadway Street | Quantico, Virginia 22134 | 703.784.4409

Marine Corps Social Media / Privacy / Accessibility / FOIA / No Fear Act / Marines.mil / MCB Quantico / USA.gov