Archives Branch: Campaign Collections
Official records documenting the Marine Corps' involvement in various campaigns.
World War I
Official Documents from World War I
The Archives Branch maintains a collection of primary sources documenting the formation of the Northern Bombing Group and the activities of the 1st Marine Aviation Force in France during World War I, 1917 - 1919.
Notable items include the war diaries of the 1st Aeronautic Company, which document the daily occurrences of the Company while conducting anti-submarine operations in the vicinity of the Azores; muster rolls of the Marines who flew missions as part of Squadron 267 and Squadron 268 of the Britain’s Royal Air Force; the operation reports of Squadrons A, B, and C; and foundational correspondence of the Northern Bombing Group from the early days of the 1st Aviation Force in France. The collection spans 7 boxes (3.5 linear feet).
If you have any questions about these collections, please contact the Archives at (703) 784-4685 or history.division@usmcu.edu.
Note: When requesting materials from these collections, please provide the following information: collection name, collection number, and box number (i.e., First Marine Aviation Collection, COLL/31012, Boxes 2-3).
- 1st Marine Aviation Force Collection Finding AidThe 1st Marine Aviation Force Collection contains rosters, orders, memoranda, messages, muster rolls, correspondence, casualty reports, aviation logs, and other information.
Indexes to World War I Personal Papers Collections
The Archives Branch maintains indexes of personal papers collections to serve as pathfinders for prospective researchers. The criteria for selecting collections for inclusion in this index is limited to those personal papers that contain materials pertinent to the study of the World War I.
Collections in these indexes are comprised of official Marine Corps records, documents, and publications; letters and correspondence; manuscript drafts; photographs; maps; memoirs and reminiscences; clippings and articles; oral histories and interviews; and ephemera.
- World War I Collections IndexThis index highlights ndividual personal papers collections held in the Archives Branch that concern the Marine Corps' involvement in World War I, 1917-1919.
- Women Marines in World War I Collections IndexThis index highlights personal papers collections found in the Archives Branch that document Women Marines during the World War I-era, circa 1916-1918.
World War I Photographs
The Archives Branch maintains a Flickr page dedicated to showcasing photographs found in our collections.
Photographs relevant to the study of World War I include images of Female Marine Reservists in Washington, DC; images of the 1st Marine Aeronautic Company in the Azores; and depictions of the destruction at Chateau-Thierry and Belleau Wood, among others.
Please note that some of the photographs found on our Flickr pages are considered public domain and have been cleared for release. While some imagery is public domain, any use of such imagery from this site must be attributed to the U.S. Marine Corps, or the individual photographer. Photographs may not be used to deface the reputation of the Marine Corps, its personnel, or policies. Additionally, some imagery on this site may fall under copyright protection, such as imagery from personal photo collections donated to the Archives. Please contact us for more information regarding proper use of and/or copyright restrictions for these images.
- World War I photographs on the Archives Branch FlickrSelections of World War I-era photographs from the collections of the Archives Branch.
World War I maps
The Archives Branch maintains a collection of original maps from World War I, including Chateau Thierry, Blanc Mont, St. Mihiel. Some of these maps are available in digital format. Please contact the Archives for more information.
The Perry-Castañeda Library Map Collection at the University of Texas at Austin maintains a digital collection of the supplementary maps from "Summary of Operations in the World War" (see link below).
- World War I maps from the Perry-Castañeda Library Map Collection at the University of TexasDownloadable versions of the supplementary maps from the book series "Summary of Operations in the World War," published in 1944 by the American Battle Monuments Commission.
Monographs and publications from the Marine Corps History Division
Available as full-text, searchable PDFs from the Government Publishing Office.
- "The Bravest Deeds of Men: A Field Guide for the Battle of Belleau Wood"by Colonel William T. Anderson, USMCR (Ret)
The Battle of Belleau Wood in June 1918 was the first major engagement between the Germans and US Marines. The Germans were stunned to find that not only could the Marines fight, but they were also deadly marksman who were incapable of quitting the field of battle until it was theirs. Today, Bois de la Brigade de Marine and the surrounding woods, small towns, and farmland appear much the same as it did a century ago. The battlefield remains scarred with the impact craters from artillery and the trenches and defensive positions carved into the ground by a previous generation of fighters. With the creation of Anderson’s field guide, visitors can now walk the area with the history of the battle in their pockets and at their fingertips. This guide was written based on Anderson’s experience leading staff rides and private tours of the battlefield and will give readers the ability to experience the terrain on their own. - "A Brief History of Marine Corps Action in Europe During World War I"A capsule history of Marine Corps involvement in World War I, prepared by the Marine Corps History Division.
- "Reducing the Saint-Mihiel Salient, September 1918"by Colonel Walter G. Ford, USMC
When Marines of the 5th Regiment, commanded by Colonel Charles A. Doyen, arrived in France in June 1917 as leading elements of what would become the 4th Brigade, they found the western front in somewhat of a stalemate, with the French and British faced off against the German Army in a gory line of trenches stretching from Nieuport, Belgium, in Flanders on the North Sea, all the way to the Swiss border. After two and a half years of furious back and forth between the Allies and the Germans along a 468-mile strongly fortified line, the German armies still retained the initiative and Allied morale was low. Along this battle line, just east of Verdun, sat a longstanding German-held “hernia” on the French side that French forces had repeatedly attempted to reduce between 1914 and 1916—the Saint-Mihiel salient. Here, in September 1918, the American Expeditionary Forces (AEF), led by General John J. Pershing, commander in chief, with its one Marine brigade, the 4th Brigade, would win the first large-scale American-led victory of World War I. - "The United States Marine Corps in the World War"by Major Edwin N. McClellan, USMC
In 1918, men of the 4th Brigade of Marines, 2d Division of Regulars, and of the Day Wing, Northern Bombing Group, took part in a memorable series of campaigns in France as part of the American Expeditionary Forces. The names of many of the battles in which they fought, in particular Belleau Wood, became legendary to their countrymen. This monograph, first published in 1920, has proved to be an accurate and concise accounting of the growth, activities, and combat exploits of Marines. - "US Marine Corps in the First World War: Anthology, Selected Bibliography, and Annotated Order of Battle"The aim of this collection is to give readers the broad historical strokes to U.S. Marine Corps participation in World War I, as well as to show that the Corps’ contribution to the war effort was not limited to the 4th Brigade. World War I created the modern-day Marine Corps; an adaptive force-in-readiness even when seemingly relegated to ship and barracks duty.
- "Women Marines in World War I"by Captain Linda L. Hewitt, USMCR
The history of the first women to serve in the Marine Corps is a fascinating record of the dedication and drive of American women during World War I. The purpose of this monograph is to tell the story of the small band of women who answered the Corps' call for volunteers in 1918 with patriotism and enthusiasm.
Other World War I Primary Sources
- "Summary of Operations in the World War"This book series, published in 1944 by the American Battle Monuments Commission, recounts the daily operation of the ancillary units of the 2d Division, American Expeditionary Force. The narrative covers tactical movements down to the Company size unit, as well as organizational and statistical data (unit strength, casualties, etc.).
- Trench Journals and Unit Magazines of the First World WarMCU STUDENTS AND FACULTY ONLY: An archival research resource containing a vast collection of rare magazines by and for servicemen and women of all nations during the First World War. Over 1,500 periodicals written and illustrated by serving members of the armed forces and associated welfare organizations published between 1914 and the end of 1919 are included. Magazines have been scanned cover-to-cover, in full color or grayscale, and with granular indexing of all articles. This database is available only to students and faculty of MCU. Please note you will need a current Library of the Marine Corps library card to access this database.
- United States Army in the World War, 1917-1919The Government Publishing Office (GPO) has digitized the 17-volume set, United States Army in the World War, 1917-1919, in recognition of the 100th anniversary of the end of the conflict. Published in 1948, this publication compiles key documents, maps, and records for the American Expeditionary Forces (AEF) from the start of the American involvement in World War I through the occupation of Germany. This publication offers a glimpse into the organization and operations of the AEF through primary source documents compiled by the Historical Division, U.S. Army.
- World War I Document Archive CenterArchive of primary documents from World War I, compiled by volunteers of the World War I Military History List (WWI-L). International in focus, the archive intends to present in one location primary documents concerning the Great War.