Archives Branch: Campaign Collections
Official records documenting the Marine Corps' involvement in various campaigns.
Philippine Insurrection
Philippine Insurrection: Index to Personal Papers Collections
This index highlights collections found in the Archives Branch concerning Marine Corps activities in the Philippine Islands, 1899 – 1902. The criteria for selecting collections for inclusion in this index is limited to those personal papers that contain materials pertinent to the study of the Marines in the Philippines. Collections in this index are comprised of official Marine Corps records, documents, and publications; letters and correspondence; manuscripts; photographs; maps; memoirs and reminiscences; clippings and articles; oral histories and interviews; and realia and ephemera.
- Philippine Insurrection Collections IndexThis index highlights collections found in the Archives Branch concerning Marine Corps involvement in the Philippine Insurrection, or the Philippine-American War, 1899-1902.
- Correspondence Relating to the War With Spain Including the Insurrection in the Philippine Islands and the China Relief Expedition, April 15, 1898, to July 30, 1902by Graham A. Cosmas (in two volumes).
Volume 1 covers the mobilization of the Regulars and Volunteers, the Santiago and Puerto Rico campaigns, and the China relief expedition, as well brief histories of the eight army corps formed during the war and of the state Volunteer regiments mobilized for the conflict. Volume 2 is devoted entirely to the Philippines, with sections on the capture of Manila in August 1898, the growing tension between the United States forces and Emilio Aguinaldo's nationalist army, and the campaign in the Philippines from February 1899 through the officially proclaimed end of the conflict on 30 June 1902. - Lessons from a Successful Counterinsurgency: The Philippines, 1899-1902by Timothy K. Deady, Parameters, Spring 2005.
- Masterpiece of Counterguerrilla Warfare: BG J. Franklin Bell in the Philippines, 1901-1902by Robert D. Ramsey III. The Long War Series Occasional Paper 25. Combat Studies Institute Press, US Army Combined Arms Center, Fort Leavenworth, Kansas.
- Operations of the Navy and Marine Corps in the Philippine Archipelago, 1898-1902by Lieutenant Commander A. P. Niblack, US Navy. From the introduction: "...a summary, chronologically arranged, of the engagements and incidents of the entire campaign of the navy and marine corps in the Philippine Archipelago from 1898 to July 1, 1902, inclusive, as set forth in printed reports."
- Philippine-American War, 1899-1902by Arnaldo Dumindin. Maps are included throughout.
- The Samar Counterinsurgency Campaign of 1899-1902: Lessons Worth Learning?by William N. Holden. Asian Culture and History; Volume 6, No. 1; 2014.
- Savage Wars of Peace: Case Studies of Pacification in the Philippines, 1900–1902by Robert D. Ramsey III. The Long War Series Occasional Paper 24. Combat Studies Institute Press, US Army Combined Arms Center, Fort Leavenworth, Kansas.
