Archives Branch: Campaign Collections
Nicaragua
Official Correspondence from Nicaragua, 1912-1927
The collection includes correspondence to John Lejeune from the 2d Brigade, 3d Battalion, 5th Regiment of Marines, concerning logistics, personnel, troop movements, and efforts to interdict Nicaraguan rebel leader Augusto Sandino; correspondence and enemy contact reports from the leadership of the Guardia Nacional; patrol reports from the 2d Brigade; drafts of "A Review of the Organization and Operations of the Guardia Nacional de Nicaragua (1927-1932)"; and reports and speeches on small wars operations during the Nicaraguan Campaign.
- Nicaragua Collection Finding AidThis box list comprises official correspondence, patrol reports, speeches, and other documents concerning Marine Corps activities in Nicaragua, 1912-1927.
Nicaragua: Index to Personal Papers Collections
This index highlights collections found in the Archives Branch concerning Marine Corps activities and police actions in Nicaragua, 1910 – 1938. The criteria for selecting collections for inclusion in this index is limited to those personal papers that contain materials pertinent to the study of the Marines in Nicaragua. Collections in this index are comprised of official Marine Corps records, documents, and publications; letters and correspondence; manuscripts; photographs; maps; memoirs and reminiscences; clippings and articles; oral
histories and interviews; and realia and ephemera.
- Nicaragua collections indexThis index highlights collections held in the Archives Branch that concern Marine Corps involvement in police actions in Nicaragua, 1912-1938.
Nicaraguan Campaign Photographs
- Photographs from the Coco River Patrol, Nicaragua, 1928-1929During service in Central American waters, Merritt Edson's detachment was ashore in Nicaragua during the period February 1928 – 1929. Merritt Edson, commanding 160 handpicked Marines, fought twelve separate engagements with bandits led by Augusto Sandino. Edson and his Marines denied Sandino's men the use of the Poteca and Coco River valleys.
Nicaragua Maps
- Nicaragua, 1903From the Library of Congress.
- República de Nicaragua, 1913From the Library of Congress.
- Eastern Nicaragua, 1928From the Library of Congress.
The United States Marines in Nicaragua by This pamphlet is a concise narrative of the role of U.S. Marines in the American interventions in Nicaragua during the period 1910-1933. The chronicle was compiled from official records and appropriate historical works and is published to give a further understanding of Marine participation in counterinsurgency warfare during the second two decades of the 20th century.
- The Sandino Rebellion Nicaragua 1927-1934An open-access digital archive on the nationalist rebellion against US military intervention in Nicaragua led by Augusto C. Sandino in the 1920s and 1930s.