Research Guides: Archives Branch: Campaign Collections: Haiti

Haiti

Index to Personal Papers
Other Resources

Haiti: Index to Personal Papers Collections

This index highlights collections found in the Archives Branch concerning Marine Corps involvement in the occupation of Haiti, 1914-1935. The criteria for selecting collections for inclusion in this index is limited to those personal papers that contain pertinent materials.

Collections in this index are comprised of official Marine Corps records, documents, and publications; letters and correspondence; manuscripts; photographs; maps; memoirs and reminiscences; clippings and articles; oral histories and interviews; and realia and ephemera.

Haiti Collections Index
This index highlights collections found in the Archives Branch concerning Marine Corps involvement in the occupation of Haiti, 1914-1935.

"A Monograph of Haiti" (1932)
This monograph compiled in December 1932 by the Intelligence Section, Division of Operations and Training, Headquarters, US Marine Corps, Washington, DC. From the introduction: "The object of this book is to provide operative and war plans information upon the Republic of Haiti. A monograph aims to be so thorough a description of the country upon which it is written that the Commander of an Expedition approaching its coast will have at his disposal all the information obtainable to commence active operations in case of a hostile invasion or a peaceful occupation."
"The Small Wars Manual and Military Operations Other Than War"
by Major Richard C. McMonagle, USMC
A thesis presented to the US Army Command and Staff College in 1996 is an examination of the applicability of small wars doctrine (as established in the occupations of Haiti, Nicaragua, and the Dominican Republic) in current Operations Other Than War (OOTW).
"U.S. Marines and Irregular Warfare, 1898-2007: Anthology and Selected Bibliography"
This anthology presents a collection of 27 articles on counterinsurgency and irregular warfare efforts from 1898 to 2007, with an emphasis on the role of Marine Corps in the conduct of such efforts. Haiti is featured two articles, beginning on page 89: "The American Occupation of Haiti: Problems and Programs, 1920-1928" and "Administering the Protectorates: The U.S. Occupation of Haiti and the Dominican Republic."